Itchingfield, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Itchingfield, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Horsham|
|Parish registers: 1700|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1591|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ITCHINGFIELD, or Hitchingfelt (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Horsham, hundred of East Easwrith, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 3¼ miles (W. S. W.) from Horsham.
Itchingfield is a small village and civil parish in the Horsham district of West Sussex the principal settlement in the parish is at Barns Green.
Itchingfield St Nicholas is the 12th century Ancient Parish church whose history is described at Sussex Parish Churches Itchingfield St Nicholas
The parish church of St Nicholas has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) Itchingfield St Nicholas also has details of the Barns Green Congregational Church.
See also Itchingfield Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Horsham registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralized Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Itchingfield, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|TGEN = The Genealogist - (£)|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|Itchingfield, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Itchingfield
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 623-628. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 15 November 2020.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.