To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Jasper County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Jasper County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Carthage
Organized: January 29, 1841
Parent County(s): Newton[1]
Neighboring Counties
Barton  • Cherokee (KS)  • Crawford (KS)  • Dade  • Lawrence  • Newton
See County Maps
Courthouse
MissouriJasperCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Missouri Jasper County Map.svg.png
Adoption
Monument to William Jasper at Savannah, Georgia

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for William Jasper. The County is located in the southwest area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Jasper County Courthouse
302 S Main Street
Carthage, MO 64836-1696
Phone: 417-358-0441
Jasper County Website

County Clerk has birth records 1883-1900 and death records 1883-1891.
Recorder of Deeds has marriage and land records.
Probate Judge has probate and court records.[3]

Jasper County, Missouri Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1883 1841 1883 1841 1841 1841 1830
Statewide registration started in 1910 for births and deaths. General compliance for births by 1927 and deaths by 1911.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1863 Courthouse was destroyed by fire in October 1863, but county records were saved.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1841 Jasper County was created 29 January 1841 from Newton County.
  • County seat: Carthage[5]

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places in Jasper County, MO, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator.
The State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical Missouri place names for all 114 Missouri Counties.
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • All of the family biographies from The History of Jasper County, Missouri (1883) published by Mills & Company are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.
  • The Biographical Record of Jasper County, Missouri. By Hon. Malcolm G. McGregor. 1901. Available online at Google Books. This book has biographical sketches of county residents. A name index is provided on page 5 of the book.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Jasper County, Missouri online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

  • Arthurs in Missouri. By David E. Zellers. Available online at FamilySearch.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Jasper County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • The History of Jasper County, Missouri. By F. A. North. 1883. Des Moines, Iowa : Mills & Co. Vol 2 available online at FamilySearch. Vol 3 available online at FamilySearch. Index available online at FamilySearch.
  • A History of Jasper County, Missouri, and its People. by Joel T. Livingston. 1912. Vol 1 available online at Google Books; Vol 2 available online at Google Books

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Barton CountyDade CountyLawrence CountyNewton CountyCrawford CountyCherokee CountyOklahomaMO JASPER.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Jasper County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Jasper County, Missouri:

- 11th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company A
- 11th Regiment, Missouri Infantry - Confederate, Company K

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War Battle was fought in Jasper County:

  • Map showing Civil War battles in Missouri.

World War II[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jasper County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Joplin Genealogical Society
    306 S. Wall
    Joplin, MO 64801
    Website
    (This location has closed its genealogy section and given the records to the Jasper County Records Center-see above under Archives)
  • Jasper County Historical Society
    1718 Garrison
    Carthage, MO 64836
    Phone: 417-358-2980

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
  • MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
  • Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Jasper, Missouri," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jasper_County,_Missouri. accessed 9/11/2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jasper County, Missouri. Page 397-407 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 393-397.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Jasper County, Missouri," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, Jasper County Missouri, accessed Oct 2019.
  7. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August 2012)
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.