Jefferson County, Florida Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Jefferson County, Florida)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Jefferson County, Florida ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Monticello
Organized: January 6, 1827
Parent County(s): Leon[1]
Neighboring Counties
Brooks (GA)  • Leon  • Madison  • Taylor  • Thomas (GA)  • Wakulla  •
See County Maps
Courthouse
FloridaJeffersonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Fl-jefferson.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Thomas Jefferson, third President of the United States of America. The County is located in the Northwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Jefferson County Courthouse
Courthouse #10; PO Box 547
Monticello, FL 32344
Phone: 850-342-0218
Jefferson County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1840, divorce records from 1900, Probate and court records from 1850 and land records from 1827.[3]

Jefferson County, Florida Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1899 1840 1899 1850 1827 1850 1830
*Statewide registration of births and deaths began in 1899. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
  • Alma
  • Ashville
Census-designated places
  • Limestone
  • Lois
  • Montivilla
  • Nash
  • Thomas City


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Jefferson, Florida online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Florida Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Jefferson County cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1830 3,312
1840 5,713 72.5%
1850 7,718 35.1%
1860 9,876 28.0%
1870 13,398 35.7%
1880 16,065 19.9%
1890 15,757 −1.9%
1900 16,195 2.8%
1910 17,210 6.3%
1920 14,502 −15.7%
1930 13,408 −7.5%
1940 12,032 −10.3%
1950 10,413 −13.5%
1960 9,543 −8.4%
1970 8,778 −8.0%
1980 10,703 21.9%
1990 11,296 5.5%
2000 12,902 14.2%
2010 14,761 14.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing census records online, see: Florida Census.

  • 1783 Spanish Census USGenWeb
  • 1821 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
  • 1823 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
  • 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos USGenWeb
  • 1885 Florida State Population Census includes sex, age, relationship, occupation, place of birth of each family member and parents. Also census for agriculture, manufacture and mortality.
  • Federal Census Information from National Archives USGenWeb
  • State Census Information from Florida State Archives USGenWeb
  • Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service USGenWeb

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Florida Territorial Land Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for most counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Thomas CountyBrooks CountyMadison CountyTaylor CountyWakulla CountyLeon CountyFL JEFFERSON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Indexes and Records

  • 1784 – 1990 FamilySearch Florida Probate Records 1784-1990
  • 1810 – 1974 Ancestry.com $ Florida Wills and Probate Records 1810-1974

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, Florida State Archives, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Jefferson County R.J. Bailar Public Library
375 S Water Street
Monticello, FL 32344
Phone: 850-342-0205
website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Jefferson County Genealogical Society
695 East Washington Street
Monticello FL 32344-2546

Jefferson County Historical Association
Mailing:PO Box 496
Monticello, Florida 32345
Physical:230 North Jefferson Street
Monticello, Florida 32344
Phone: 850-997-2465
Website

Keystone Genealogical Society
375 S Water Street
Monticello, FL 32344
Phone: 850-342-0205
website

Florida Historical Society
435 Brevard Ave.
Cocoa FL 32922
Phone: 321-690-1971
Website

Florida State Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 940927
Maitland, FL 32794-0927
Phone: 407-494-3747
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Jefferson County, Florida Genealogy and History”, genealogy trails accessed 04/25/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Jefferson County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia accessed 30 January 2019.