Jersey County, Illinois Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Jersey County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

[[]]
Jersey County, Illinois
Map
Boundary map of Jersey County, Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: February 28, 1839
County Seat Jerseyville
Courthouse
Jersey County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD), Illinois State Archives
Address Jersey County Courthouse
200 N. LaFayette
Jerseyville, Illinois 62052
618-498-5571
Jersey County Website


County Organization[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1878 1839 1878 1845 1839 1850 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths started 1916. General compliance by 1922.

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Jersey County are kept, see the Jersey County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Jersey County is named for the state of New Jersey.

Parent County[edit | edit source]

  • 1839--Jersey County was created 28 February 1839 from Greene County. County seat: Jerseyville [2]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for the state of New Jersey, from which many of the early settlers emigrated - which was itself named for the Channel Island of Jersey in Great Britain. The county seat is Jerseyville and the county was organized on February 28, 1839. The County is located in the West central part of the state.[3]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Records and Resources[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Jersey, Illinois online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Illinois Cemeteries for more information

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1840 4,535
1850 7,354 62.2%
1860 12,051 63.9%
1870 15,054 24.9%
1880 15,542 3.2%
1890 14,810 −4.7%
1900 14,612 −1.3%
1910 13,954 −4.5%
1920 12,682 −9.1%
1930 12,556 −1.0%
1940 13,636 8.6%
1950 15,264 11.9%
1960 17,023 11.5%
1970 18,492 8.6%
1980 20,538 11.1%
1990 20,539 0.0%
2000 21,668 5.5%
2010 22,985 6.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Jersey County has many religious denominations represented.Major denominations include Evangelical Denominations, Catholic Church, American Baptist Churches, Assemblies of God, Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), Christian Churches and Churches of Christ, Church of the Nazarene, Presbyterian Church, United Church of Christ, United Methodist Church. To find more about these denominations and their resources by county, Click here. Few records of churches have been found in print or online.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library.

Directories[edit | edit source]


Ethnic Research[edit | edit source]

African American[edit | edit source]

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed online, through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the University of Illinois at Springfield - search for Jersey County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the UIS IRAD Wiki page.

Online Resources

  • BLM GLO Records. Search original land patents for Jersey County from the Govenment Land Office (GLO) or Eastern States Office. Some searches include images of the original warrants. All search results include the patant details needed for requesting copies of the land entry files at the National Archives. The GLO is the custodian of millions of land title documents. The General Land Office Automated Records Project is responsible for making these important documents available to the public.
  • Illinois Public Land Purchase Records This record extract includes over 538,000 land sales from the 19th Century. Each entry includes the purchaser's name, purchase date, number of acres, price per acre, and in some cases the purchaser's sex and residence. Available at www.ancestry.com ($)
  • Sheldon, Theodore. Land registration in Illinois. Chicago: Callaghan Co., 1901. Digital book. Expains the laws regarding land and the land systems used in Illinois. Includes court cases involving land issues. In addition to being on Ancestry, this book is available online at no cost at Internet Archives and Google Books.


Copies of original records


Additional Resources

Additional resources for Jersey County land and property may be found online in the FamilySearch Catalog. Online microfilm are indicated by the camera icon in the catalog entry. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the WorldCat Online Catalog.

Maps[edit | edit source]

St. Charles CountyCalhoun CountyGreene CountyMacoupin CountyMadison CountyIL JERSEY.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Jersey County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Jersey County.

- 14th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.
- 27th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- 61st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies C and D.
- 97th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies H and K.
- 122nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- 124th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- 133rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company H.
- 144th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (1 year, 1864-65), Companies F, G and H.
- 154th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.

World War I[edit | edit source]

IRAD holdings:

  • Military discharge records 1918 to 1965
  • Military discharge records index 1918 to 1967

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Newspapers and Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Places and Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[4]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Townships

‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records


Original probate records are held by the circuit court clerk. Probate records include wills, inventories, settlements, and guardianship records. Some probate records are held at IRAD. Explore how to search IRAD–UIS. The following copies are available in the FamilySearch Catalog:

Repositories[edit | edit source]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Jersey County are kept, see the Jersey County Courthouse page.

Family History Center[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Jersey County has no family history centers. The nearest center seems to be:

Alton Illinois Family History Center
6500 Humbert Rd
Godfrey, Illinois
Contact: (618) 466-4352
Hours: The center has limited hours in Tuesdays, Thursdays, the first Saturday of the month, and on Wednesdays by appointment.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)[edit | edit source]

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois.

The University of Illinois at Springfield (UIS) houses the records for Cass County. The link will help you find and use the records. There address is:

Illinois Regional Archives Depository
LIB144
University of Illinois at Springfield Region
One University Plaza, MS BRK 140
Springfield, Illinois 62703-5407
217-206-6520

Public Libraries[edit | edit source]

Jerseyville Public Library
105 North Liberty Street
Jerseyville, IL 62052
Phone: (618) 498-9514
Website

The Jerseyville Library has a genealogical collection, some of whichincludes microfilmed copies of censuses for Jersey County and local newspapers. Their Genealogy links contain several links specific to Jersey County.

Social Groups Online[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth (1878) and death (1878) records are kept by the Jersey County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health. with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are kept by the County Clerk from 1839 to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

Copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Universtiy of Illinois–Springfield(UIS). Search Jersey County records in the Local Governmental Records Holdings Database . For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD–UIS Wiki page.

Explore Jersey County vital records found in the FamilySearch Catalog. Other libraries(at WorldCat) also hold copies of abstracted Jersey County vital records. (How to explore WorldCat).

Birth[edit | edit source]


For help with using the above IRAD links, click here for how to Use IRAD

Marriage[edit | edit source]


For help with using the above IRAD links, click here for how to Use IRAD


Death[edit | edit source]


Jersey County deaths are not in the statewide pre-1916 death index.
For help with using the above IRAD links, click here forhow to use IRAD

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Jersey County, Illinois. Page 192-199 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 194-197.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 195. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Jersey County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jersey_County,_Illinois 04/17/2017.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Jersey County, Illinois," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jersey_County,_Illinois, Last accessed 27 February 2020.