København County, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Denmark Wiki Topics
Denmark flag
Beginning Research
Record Types
Denmark Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to København ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Ask the
Community


History[edit | edit source]

Copenhagen County is a former county on the island of Zealand in eastern Denmark. It covered the municipalities in the metropolitan Copenhagen area, with the exception of Copenhagen and Frederiksberg. Effective January 1, 2007, the county was abolished and merged into Region Hovedstaden, Copenhagen Capital Region.

Archives, Societies, and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Many records from places in København County are held by the Danish State Archives in Copenhagen. Records are also available from the State Archives' website ArkivalierOnline.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Districts[edit | edit source]

There are two herreds in København County:

  • Smørum Herred
  • Sokkelund Herred

How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Information[edit | edit source]

Instructions for finding records are found on the individual parish pages, linked to the clickable map and parish list below. .


Parishes[edit | edit source]

Kirke HyllingeRyeKirke SonnerupKirke SåbySæbyLyndbyGevningeKirke HvalsøKisserupAllerslevSærløseOstedHerslevKornerupSvogerslevRoskilde DomsognGlimVor FrueHimmelevFløngHvedstrupÅgerupKirkerupGundsømagleJyllingeVindingeReerslevKildebrøndeGreveTuneSnoldelevKarlslundeKarlstrupHavdrupSolrødJersieKirke SkensvedRorupGadstrupSyvDåstrupØrstedBorupKimmerslevNørre DalbyEjbyHøjelseØlsemagleKøge CityHøje TåstrupTorslundeIshøjSengeløseTåstrup NykirkeSmørumLedøjeMåløvVærløseBallerupGlostrupHerstedøsterHerstedvesterVallensbækBrøndbyvesterBrøndbyøsterVedbækSøllerødVirumBagsværdHerlevLundtofteTårbækLyngbyGentofteGladsakseIslevHvidovreKøbenhavn CityKøbenhavn CityKastrupKastrupTårnbyStore MaglebyDragørRødovreKobenhavn Map.jpg

Map of parishes: København(Copenhagen) County and Roskilde County

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Military[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Copenhagen and Frederiksborg Counties[edit | edit source]

This table lists records available from one or more courts (birk) in the county. The description in the Protokol column is from the FamilySearch Library Catalog note, and may not always be the same as the description given by the National Archives of Denmark.

Amt Sogn / Herred Birk Protokol År Film Rigsarkivet Daisy
Frederiksborg and København Svanholm Tingbog 1722-1732 314839 Justitsprotokol, 1722-1732, 1790-1832 Holdings
Frederiksborg and København Svanholm Tingbog 1790-1832 314840
Frederiksborg and København Svanholm Tingbog 1790-1832 314841

Copenhagen County[edit | edit source]

Amt Sogn / Herred Birk Protokol År Film Rigsarkivet Daisy
København Bidstrup Tingbog 1681-1688 314677 Tingbog, 1681-1809 Holdings
København Bidstrup Tingbog 1688-1693, 1698-1704 314678
København Bidstrup Tingbog 1704-1717 314679
København Bidstrup Tingbog 1717-1722 314680
København Bidstrup Tingbog 1722-1734 314681
København Bidstrup Tingbog 1734-1747 314682
København Bidstrup Tingbog 1748-1765 314683
København Bidstrup Tingbog 1765-1781 314684
København Bidstrup Tingbog 1781-1801 314685
København Bidstrup Tingbog 1801-1809 314686
København Egholm Tingbog 1776-1816 314705 Justitsprotokol, 1776-1832 Holdings
København Egholm Tingbog 1816-1832 314706
København Gammelgård Tingbog 1779-1810 314717 Justitsprotokol, 1779-1810 Holdings
København Gammel Køgegård Tingbog 1697-1713 314718 Tingbog, 1697-1759, 1761-1855 Holdings
København Gammel Køgegård Tingbog 1713-1730 314719
København Gammel Køgegård Tingbog 1730-1759 314720
København Gammel Køgegård Tingbog 1761-1799 314721
København Gammel Køgegård Tingbog 1800-1823 314722
København Gammel Køgegård Tingbog 1823-1851 314723
København Gammel Køgegård Tingbog, 1851-1855;
Notarialprotokoller med register, 1822-1855;
Notarialprotokoller dokumenter, 1806-1854;
Overformynderiprotokoller, 1835-1853
314724 Tingbog, 1851-1855;
Navneregister til notarialprotokol, 1822-1855;
Notarialprotokol, 1822-1855;
Overformynderiprotokol, 1835-1853
København Ledreborg Tingbog 1796-1828 314807 Justitsprotokol, 1796-1864 Holdings
København Ledreborg Tingbog 1829-1859 314808
København Ledreborg Tingbog 1859-1864 314809
København Store-Magleby sogn Ny-Hollænderby Tingbog 1691-1699 314778 Tingbog, 1691-1699 Holdings
København Ramsø Herred Svenstrup Tingbog 1712-1736 314842 Tingbog, 1712-1806 Holdings
København Svenstrup Tingbog 1748-1756 314843
København Svenstrup Tingbog 1756-1769 314844
København Svenstrup Tingbog 1780-1795 314845
København Svenstrup Tingbog 1795-1806 314846
København Svenstrup Tingbog 1807-1833 314847 Justitsprotokol, 1807-1833

Estates[edit | edit source]

  • Alkestrup-Egemarke gods Regimentsskriver
  • Benzonsdal gods
  • Benzonseje gods
  • Bernstorff gods
  • Bistrup gods
  • Bregentved gods Regimentsskriver
  • Cathrinebjærg gods
  • Christiansminde gods
  • Edelgave gods
  • Egholm gods
  • Frederiksdal gods
  • Gammel Køgegård gods
  • Gjeddesdal gods
  • Grevskabet Ledreborg gods
  • Herslev sognekalds mensalgods
  • Hvedstrup-Fløng sognekalds mensalgods
  • Hyllinge-Lyngby sognes annex- og mensalgods
  • Krabbesholm gods
  • Krabbesholm gods Regimentsskriver
  • Københavns stads og magistrats gods
  • Københavns Universitetets gods
  • Københavns Universitetets gods kommunitetets gods på Sjælland
  • Ledreborg gods
  • Lejre herredsfogeds gods
  • Lindholm gods
  • Lindholm gods Regimentsskriver
  • Roskilde domkirkes gods
  • Roskilde Duebrødre klosters gods
  • Roskilde jomfruklosters gods
  • Rye præstegaards gods
  • Ryegård og Trudsholm gods
  • Sonnerup gods
  • Spanager gods
  • Svenstrup gods
  • Svenstrup gods Regimentsskriver
  • Trudsholm gods
  • Vartov Hospital gods Regimentsskriver
  • Vartov hospitals gods
  • Vibygård gods
  • Ågerup-Kirkerup sognekalds mensalsgods