Kauai County, Hawaii Genealogy
Guide to Kauai County, Hawaii ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Kauai County, Hawaii|
Location in the state of Hawaii, United States Genealogy
|Map of the U.S. highlighting Hawaii|
Location of Hawaii in the U.S.
|Address||Kauai County Courthouse|
4963 Rice Street
Lihue, HI 96766
Kauai County Website
- 1 Historical Facts
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Biography
- 2.2 Cemeteries
- 2.3 Census
- 2.4 Church Records
- 2.5 Court Records
- 2.6 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.7 Ethnic, Political and Religious Groups
- 2.8 Genealogy
- 2.9 History
- 2.10 Land and Property
- 2.11 Maps
- 2.12 Migration
- 2.13 Military
- 2.14 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.15 Newspapers
- 2.16 Obituaries
- 2.17 Probate
- 2.18 Public Records
- 2.19 Repositories
- 2.20 Description
- 2.21 Taxation
- 2.22 Vital Records
- 2.23 Websites
- 3 Populated Places
- 4 References
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
- Parent County: created in 1905 from Lihue (old) county
- County seat: Lihue 
- Neighboring Islands Honolulu
History Of Kauai
Kauai is known as the oldest of the main Hawaiian Islands. With an area of 562.3 square miles (1,456.4 km), it is the fourth largest of the main islands in the Hawaiian archipelago and the 21st largest island in the United States. Known also as the “Garden Isle”, Kauai lies 105 miles (170 km) across the Kauai Channel, northwest of Oahu. This island is the Site of the Waimea Canyon State Park.
The United States Census Bureau defines Kauai as Census as Census Tracts 401 through 409 of Kauai County, Hawaii, which is all of the county excepts for the islands of Ka’ula Lehua, and Ni’ihau. The 2000 census population of Kauai (the island was 58, 303
There is no known meaning behind the name of Kauai. Native Hawaiian tradition indicates the name's origin in the legend of Hawaiʻiloa — the Polynesian navigator attributed with discovery of the Hawaiian Islands. The story relates how he named the island of Kauai after a favorite son; therefore a possible translation of Kauai is "place around the neck", meaning how a father would carry a favorite child. Another possible translation is "food season.
Kauai was known for its distinct dialect of the Hawaiian language before it went extinct there. Whereas the standard language today is based on the dialect of Hawaii Island, which has the sound [k] at the beginning of words, the Kauai dialect was known for pronouncing this as [t]. In effect, Kauai dialect retained the old pan-Polynesian /t/, while 'standard' Hawaii dialect has innovated and changed it to the [k]. Therefore, the native name for Kauai was Kauai, and the major settlement of Kapaau would have been called Tamara.
Kauai’s origins are volcanic. The highest peak on this mountainous island is Kawaikini at 5,243 feet (1,598 m).] The second highest peak is Mount Waiʻaleʻale near the center of the island, 5,148 feet (1,569 m) above sea level. One of the wettest spots on earth, with an annual average rainfall of 460 inches (1,200 cm), is located on the east side of Mount Waiʻaleʻale. The high annual rainfall has eroded deep valleys in the central mountains, carving out canyons with many scenic waterfalls. On the west side of the island, Waimea town is located at the mouth of the Waimea River, whose flow formed Waimea Canyon, one of the world's most scenic canyons, and which is part of Waimea Canyon State Park. At 3,000 feet (914 m) deep, Waimea Canyon is often referred to as "The Grand Canyon of the Pacific". The Na Pali Coast is a center for recreation in a wild setting, including kayaking past the beaches, or hiking on the trail along the coastal cliffs.
During the reign of King Kamehameha, the islands of Kauai and Niʻihau were the last Hawaiian Islands to join his Kingdom of Hawaii. Their ruler, Kaumualiʻi, resisted Kamehameha for years. King Kamehameha twice prepared a huge armada of ships and canoes to take the islands by force and twice failed; once due to a storm, and once due to an epidemic. In the face of the threat of a further invasion, however, Kaumualiʻi decided to join the kingdom without bloodshed, and became Kamehameha's vassal in 1810, ceding the island to the Kingdom of Hawaii upon his death in 1824. In 1815-17, Kaumualiʻi led secret negotiations with representatives of the Russian-American Company in an attempt to gain Russia's military help against Kamehameha; however, the negotiations folded and the Russians were forced to abandon all of their presence in Kauai, including Fort Elizabeth, after it was revealed that they did not have the support of Tsar Alexander I.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|HIGenWeb Archives||FamilySearch Places|
|See Hawaii Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Kauai County, Hawaii Genealogy census records online, see: Hawaii Census.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Hawaii denominations, view the Hawaii Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
- 1874-1898 - Hawaii, Passport Records, 1874-1898 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Ethnic, Political and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Kauai County, Hawaii Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Hawaii Local Histories.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
- 1845-1909 - Hawaii, Grantor and Grantee Index, 1845-1909 at FamilySearch — index How to Use this Collection
Maps[edit | edit source]
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917-1919 - Hawaii, World War I Service Records, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Hawaii, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1838-1991 - Hawaii, Naturalization Records, 1838-1991 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- 1980-present - Hawaii Obituaries Index ca. 1980-present at FamilySearch— index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1982-2010 - Hawaii, Kauai County, Obituaries, 1982-2010 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Probate[edit | edit source]
Public Records[edit | edit source]
State Health Department has marriage, death, birth wills, probate and land records.
Repositories[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County Seat is Lihue and was Founded 1905. It is located in the islands of Kauaʻi, Niʻihau, Lehua, and Kaʻula.
Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Family History Center[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Libraries
- Kapaa Hawaii Family History Center
- Kapaa Hawaii Family History Center
- Kauai Hawaii Family History Center
- Kekaha Hawaii Family History Center
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Taxation[edit | edit source]
- 1847-1903 - Hawaii, Tax Assessment Rolls, 1847-1903 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. The State office has some records as early as 1853 up to the present. See the State of Hawaii, Department of Health website for information on acquiring the records and any restrictions.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1843-1909 - Hawaii, Births and Baptisms, 1843-1909 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1803-1940 - Hawaii, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1909-1989 - Hawaii, Board of Health, Marriage Record Indexes, 1909-1989 at FamilySearch — index, and some images - How to Use this Collection
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1849-1915 - Hawaii, Various Islands, Circuit Court Divorce Records, 1849-1915 at FamilySearch — images - How to Use this Collection
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1841-1925 - Hawaii, Death Records and Death Registers, 1841-1925 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Kauai HIGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Kauai County, Hawaii Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kauai County, Hawaii . Page 170 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 169.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kauai County, Hawaii page 170, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Kauai County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kauai_County,_Hawaii
- Wikipedia contributors, "Kauai County, Hawaii," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kauai_County,_Hawaii, accessed 8 February 2019.