To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Kettering St Peter and St Paul, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Kettering St Peter and St Paul, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kettering St Peter and St Paul, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Huxloe
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Kettering
Registration District Kettering
Records begin
Parish registers: 1637
Bishop's Transcripts: 1706
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Higham Ferrers
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

KETTERING (St. Peter), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Huxloe, N. division of the county of Northampton, 14 miles (N. E. by N.) from Northampton, and 75 (N. W.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Kettering St Peter and St Paul, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
Kettering St Peter and St Paul, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1912 1813-1912
AC PRs 1813-1912 1813-1912
FREG 1710-1759, 1769-1904 1710-1812 1710-1759, 1769-1905

Kettering All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Kettering All Saints Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC PRs 1895-1912 1895-1912

Kettering St Andrews parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Kettering St Andrews Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC PRs 1870-1912 1870-1912

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Geneealogy From Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Squire, David.  The Stockburn Family of Kettering.  History of Richard Stockburn originally from Wellingborough, and Joyce Jones married 1734, moving to Kettering in 1737, and the history of the family there. One of the descendants moves to Northampton, All Saints, also Boddington, and Suffolk, Woodbridge,  Surnames: Joy,  Witlark, Turner, Linnell, Wallis and Smith. Article is dated from 1737-1978, and is found in Footsteps, (Northamtonshire Family History Society Mag.) vol14.no.1.page26-30, Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo vol.14

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: m03 December 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  4. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.