Keymer St Cosmos and Damian, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Keymer St Cosmos and Damian, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Keymer is a small village and civil parish in the Mid Sussex district of West Sussex Keymer Wikipedia
Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Keymer West Sussex has entries in its database.
Keymer St Cosmos and Damian is an Ancient Parish Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) has registers from 1601 and International Genealogical Index batches prior to the 1864-1866 rebuilding of the church.
The Roman Catholic church of St Edward the Confessor is also found in Keymer Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
Sussex Parish Churches history of the church Keymer St Cosmos and Damian
The Parish Church has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Keymer St Cosmos and Damian, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Keymer St Cosmos and Damian, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
Census records[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.