Kilvington, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Kilvington, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Downloaded4423174371595264565 Kilvington St+Mary Nottinghamshire
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Newark|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1611|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
KILVINGTON (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union of Newark, S. division of the wapentake of Newark and of the county of Nottingham, 7 miles (S.) from Newark; containing, with the hamlet of Alverton. It was consolidated with the parish of Staunton in 1826.
Kilvington St Mary is an Ancient Parish and includes within the parish boundary the hamlet of Alverton. The parish boundary forms the county boundary with neighbour Bottesford, Leicestershire Genealogy
Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have researched the history of the church Kilvington St Mary
The Parish church of St Mary has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district
Certificates can be obtained from:
The Register Office
Church records[edit | edit source]
Kilvington St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|KILVINGTON PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1544-1900 Marriages 1541-1892 Burials 1539-1906 Bishop’s Transcripts 1611-1836
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
Kilvington St Mary's. Alphabetical listing of Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1720, inside the Church, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 54, pages 7, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Kilvington. A transcription of memorial inscriptions dating from 1722, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Original held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD/TS 19/18, and the transcription is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 64, page15, FHL Ref 942.52
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..