Kimberley, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Kimberley, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Basford|
|Parish registers: 1848|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
KIMBERLEY, a hamlet, and formerly a chapelry, in the parish of Greasly, union of Basford, S. division of the wapentake of Broxtow, N. division of the county of Nottingham. There are places of worship for Primitive Methodists and Wesleyans.
Kimberley Holy Trinity was formed as an Ecclesiastical parish from Greasley, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Ancient Parish.
Holy Trinity church was built in 1847 and the parish formed in 1848.
Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project are researching the history of this church in progress
See also Kimberley Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district
Church records[edit | edit source]
Kimberley, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Kimberley, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Kimberley Holy Trinity
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1848-1953 Marriages 1848-1954 Burials 1848-1916
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Kimberley
Kimberley Holy Trinity. Alphabetical listing of Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1850, both inside and outside the Church, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. There is a wooden plaque inside the Church with a list of Vicar's names dated from1298. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 54, pages 12-13, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Military[edit | edit source]
War Memorial - Main Road Junction with Green Lane, Kimberley. A transcription of the W.W.1 and 2, Memorials, giving Surname, and initials of the given name. Article in The Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 87, page 51, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.