Kincardineshire, Scotland Genealogy
|Kincardineshire Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Kincardineshire County ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
Kincardine (or the Mearns, an ancient designation), is a maritime county in the east of Scotland, bounded on the north-west by the river Dee and part of Aberdeenshire, on the east and south-east by the German Ocean, and on the south-west by the county of Fordar (or Angus). It is about 32 miles in length and 24 miles in extreme breadth, comprising an area of 380 square miles or 243,444 acres.
The county consists of nineteen parishes. The county town is Stonehaven and there is the royal burgh of Bervie or Inverbervie and five villages. The surface of the county is tolerably level near the coast. The Grampian hills occupy the central, western, and northern parts of the county, with the richly cultivated area called the Howe of the Mearns at their base. About one-third of the land is in cultivation, one-eighth is capable of being cultivated, and the remainder is rough fell and mountain pasture.
Cattle and sheep are raised in the county. There are no minerals of importance. There is limestone and sandstone but they are not wrought. The manufactures are chiefly coarse linens and canvas and some cotton, but are not extensive.
ScotlandsPeople: An Important Online Source[edit | edit source]
ScotlandsPeople is one of the largest online sources of original genealogical information. If you are researching UK genealogy, your Scottish ancestry or building your Scottish family tree, they have more than 100 million records to look through.
The comprehensive choice of Scottish records includes:
For more detail on record availability, see Guides. For the content guide to what records are on the site, see Guides A-Z. More information on the site, its contents, and instructions for using it can be found in the ScotlandsPeople Wiki article. Indexes may be searched for free, and there is a pay per view fee to see the digitized record.
Census[edit | edit source]
Many census records have been indexed by surname. Some indexes cover one parish (and will be listed in the Wiki on the parish page) and some indexes are for the county as a whole. The Family History Library has county-wide census placename indexes for Kincardineshire for 1881. Click here for other census indexes available at the library.
- ScotlandsPeople, index, images, free index, pay per view ($)
- Scotland Census, 1841, no images. Also at MyHeritage, index, ($). Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1851, no images. Also at MyHeritage, index, ($). Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1861, no images. Also at MyHeritage, index, ($). Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1871, no images. Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1881, no images. Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1891, no images. Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1901 at FamilySearch — index.
- Scotland Census, 1901, index and images, ($). Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1911, index and images, ($).
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1658 - 1919 - Scotland Church Records and Kirk Session Records, 1658-1919 at FamilySearch — index
- 1736 - 1990 - Scotland Presbyterian & Protestant Church Records, 1736-1990 at FamilySearch — index
Civil Registration or Statutory Registers[edit | edit source]
For details on information found in statutory registers and other methods of searching them, see Scotland Statutory Registers - Vital Records.
Parishes[edit | edit source]
Some of the Kincardine-shire parish records are indexed in Kincardine, Scotland, Extracted Parish Records. This database is a collection of historical parish registers from the county of Kincardine in the country of Scotland. The records in this collection can range in date from the early 1500s to the mid- to late-1800s. The records include baptisms/christenings, burials, marriages, tombstone inscriptions, obituaries, tax lists, wills, and other miscellaneous types of records. Also included are some records from non-conformist churches. You will find interesting phonetic spelling. Some of the records may be in Latin or even a Welsh or Scottish dialect. Due to the nature of the records and because the records were originally compiled by a third party, it is difficult to absolutely verify the completeness and validity of the data.
Here is a list of historic parishes for the county of Kincardine. Click on the parish name to see information about records.
|Aberluthnot -- see Marykirk||265||Garvock||260|
|Banchory Devenick and Portlethen||251||Inverbervie -- see Bervie||254|
|Banchory Ternan||252||Kinneff & Catterline||262|
|Bervie (formerly Inverbervie)||254||Maryculter||264|
|Catterline -- see Kinneff & Catterline||262||Marykirk (formerly Aberluthnot)||265|
http://www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk/ Scotland Census, 1911], index and images, ($).
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Click here to see a parish outline map of Kincardineshire.
Poorhouse Records[edit | edit source]
NOTE: Workhouses in Scotland were commonly known as poorhouses. For more information on Scottish poorhouses, go to the Scotland Poorhouses, Poor Law, Etc page.
There was one workhouse in this county:
A description with drawings and photos of the workhouse today along with databases of those living there from the 1881 Census are provided on the link above located on the site entitled The Workhouse: The story of an institution... which is owned and operated by Peter Higginbotham.
Societies[edit | edit source]
Aberdeen & NE Scotland FHS
164 King St.
Tel No: +44 (0)1224 646323
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Kincardineshire Resources and help pages on RootsChat Kincardineshire Resources and help pages. (Free).
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel Lewis. Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, (London, England: S. Lewis and Co., 1846), 3 v.: 651, [FHL book 941 E5]. Digitized by FamilySearch International, FamilySearch.org, https://www.familysearch.org/search/catalog/216925 (accessed February 27, 2015).
- Samuel Lewis. "Kilsyth - Kingussie," in A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, (London, 1846), 61-82. British History Online, http://www.british-history.ac.uk/topographical-dict/scotland/pp61-82 (accessed May 27, 2020).