Kingston, Dorset Genealogy
Guide to Kingston, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Kingston was a chapelry of Corfe Castle until 1877.
St James, Kingston parish church (1833-1922)
|Poor Law Union||Wareham and Purbeck|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Corfe Castle|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
KINGSTON, or Kinson, a district chapelry, in the parish of Canford-Magna, union of Poole, hundred of Cogdean, Wimborne division of Dorset, 1¾ mile S from Corfe-Castle. The River Stour runs on the northern side of the chapelry. The chapel, dedicated to St. James, was built in 1833, and is a handsome edifice, containing the remains of Sir Frederick Cavendish Ponsonby, governor of Malta.
Kingston has two 19th-century church buildings. In 1833 John Scott, 1st Earl of Eldon commissioned a building to replace a chapel that has been established in the 12th century. This building served as the parish church until 1922 when it was substituted for the church built by the 3rd Earl of Eldon originally built as his private chapel.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Kingston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Kingston Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- For records before 1877, look at Corfe Castle.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
- In 1790 a census of Corfe Castle, undertaken by Reverend John Hutchins.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 680-683. Date accessed: 07 July 2103.
- Searching Parish Records online (Dorset) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
- History and Antiquities of the County of Dorset at Google Books