Kingston Buci (Kingston by Sea), Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Kingston Buci (Kingston by Sea), Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Kingston Buci (Kingston by Sea), Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Steyning|
|Parish registers: 1591|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
KINGSTON-BY-SEA, or Kingston-Bowsey, a parish, in the union of Steyning, hundred of Fishergate, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 1½ mile (E.) from Shoreham.
Kingston Buci St Julian is an Ancient Parish ( also referred to as Kingston by Sea) in the Adur district of West Sussex.
A history of the church Kingston Buci St Julian
The church of St Julian has been designated as a grade II* listed building [+ British listed building]
This parish should not be confused with Kingston near Lewes, Sussex in the Lewes District of East Sussex
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Steyning Registration District until the 1935 reorganisation of registration services
Certificates can be ordered from
Centralized Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Church records[edit | edit source]
Kingston Buci (Kingston by Sea), Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Kingston Buci (Kingston by Sea), Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Cataloguw showing the film numbers in their collection Kingston by Sea
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 680-683. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.