Kirkoswald, Cumberland Genealogy
Guide to Kirkoswald, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Cumberland, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Penrith|
|Parish registers: 1577|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1663|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
KIRK-OSWALD (St. Oswald), a market-town and a parish, in the union of Penrith, Leath ward, E. division of Cumberland, 15½ miles (S. E.) from Carlisle, and 292 (N. N. W.) from London.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Parish registers for Kirkoswald, 1580-1980
Bishop's transcripts for Kirkoswald, 1666-1863
Kirkoswald, Cumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|PRTs = Parish Register Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free|
|KIRKOSWALD PARISH Online Records|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Kirkoswald on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), Date accessed and adapted 6 August 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987).
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes.
- FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.