Kneesall, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

England

Nottinghamshire

Nottinghamshire Parishes

Kneesall

Guide to Kneesall, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Kneesall, Nottinghamshire
Kneesall St+Bartholomew Nottinghamshire
Type	England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred	Bassetlaw; Thurgarton
County	Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union	Southwell
Registration District	Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1682; Separate registers exist for Boughton beginning 1685
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Boughton beginning 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery	Newark
Diocese	Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court	Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Parish History

KNEESALL (St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union of Southwell, partly in the South-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, and partly in the N. division of that of Thurgarton, N. and S. divisions of the county of Nottingham, 4 miles (S. E. by E.) from Ollerton with the townships of Kersall and Ompton. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.

Additional information:

Kneesall St Bartholomew is an Ancient Parish which included Boughton, Ompton, and Kersall. The civil parish of Kneesall, Kersall and Ompton is part of the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire.Kneesall Wikipedia

The Southwell and Newark Church History Project are researching the church and parish history Kneesall St Bartholomew

The parish Church of St Bartholomew has been desigated as a grade I listed building. British listed Building

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kneesall St Bartholomew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|} KNEESALL PARISH Online Records|- Baptisms Marriages Burials Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images FMP Undefined PALL 1790-1837 Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1682-1948 Marriages 1682-1984 Burials 1682-1901Bishop’s Transcripts 1600-1861 Nottinghamshire County Council County Hall West Bridgford Nottingham NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Kneesall < Census records Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. See Nottinghamshire Census Poor Law Unions Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire Probate records Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish. Maps and Gazetteers Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place. England Jurisdictions 1851 Vision of Britain Websites Kneesall (Kneesale or Chensale) in GENUKI References