Kneeton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Kneeton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
| Kneeton, Nottinghamshire | |
|---|---|
 Kneeton St Helen Nottinghamshire | |
| Type | England Jurisdictions |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | Bingham |
| County | Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy |
| Poor Law Union | Bingham |
| Registration District | Bingham |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1591 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1627 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Bingham |
| Diocese | Lincoln |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Manor of St John of Jerusalem or Shelford St Johns |
| Location of Archive | |
| Nottinghamshire Record Office | |
Contents
Parish History[edit | edit source]
KNEETON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union, and N. division of the wapentake, of Bingham, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 7¾ miles (S. W. by W.) from Newark. This parish, which is bounded on the west by the river Trent, and on the east by the Roman Fosse-road.[1]
Additional information:
Kneeton St Helen is an Ancient Parish .
Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have not yet researched the history of this church and parish Unresearched parishes
The Parish church of St Helen has been designated a grade II listed building British listed building
See also Kneeton Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Kneeton St Helen parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
| FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2] | |||||
| PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3] |
| KNEETON PARISH Online Records | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FMP | Undefined | Undefined | ||||
| PALL | 1592-1812 | |||||
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1592-1901 Marriages 1592-1899 Burials 1592-1903 Bishop’s Transcripts 1627-1866
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Kneeton
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Bingham Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Probate records
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
- ↑ 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
![[tree]](/wiki/en/File:Mosaic_FamilySearch_Tree_Image.jpg){kind=small} |
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
