Floda Parish, Kopparberg, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Floda Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Björbo Lill Church
Floda Church

History[edit | edit source]

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Floda Parish, Kopparberg, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Västerås
Pastorat about 1605-1612 Nås, Järna and Floda, about 1605-1612 Nås, Järna, Floda and Äppelbo, 1612 - Floda
Län 1631-1640 Västmanland, 1641-1646 Säter, 1647- Kopparberg
Landskap Dalarna
Härad not applicable
Tingslag -1731 Floda, 1732-1893 Nås, Järna and Floda, 1894-1947 Nås, 1948-1970 Nås and Malungs domsaga
Domsaga 1687-1901 Västra, later called Västerdalarne, 1902-1970 Nås and Malung, 1971-1974 Nedansiljan, 1975- Leksand
Fögderi 1720-1966 Västerdal, 1967- Borlänge
Kommun 1863-1970 Floda, 1971- Gagnef
Militär indelning Dal-regementet: Vesterdals Kompani, Dalregementet: Västerdals kompani
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/12375
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Badstuguberget, Bäckbyn, Björbo, Björbo Hansby, Björbo Kolan,

Flen, Forsen, Forssgärde

Gåsholmen,

Hagen, Handbacken, Holsåkern,

Kyrkobyn, Källbacken,

Löfsjö Bruk,

Mossel,

Ofvanmejdan,

Slätheden, Solån, Sunnanbyn, Svedjebyn, Syrholm, Sågen, Sälje,

Tallriset,

Westerfallet.


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Kopparberg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Sweden, Kopparberg and then select your parish.


Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

References[edit | edit source]

Floda parish, 1837-1846 (AI:18 and 19) Husförhörslängd, Ort register.

Riksarkivet. "Floda Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). March 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/