Information icon.png The FamilySearch Research Wiki will be down for maintenance on Sunday, Sept. 27, at 11:59 pm until Monday, Sept 28, 4:00 am EDT.

Kungsbacka Parish, Halland, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Kungsbacka Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Tjolöholms Church
Kungsbacka Church

History[edit | edit source]

Kungsbacka is a locality and the seat of Kungsbacka Municipality in Halland County, Sweden.
The first records referring to Kungsbacka as a town date from the 15th century, when it was part of Denmark. By the time it was recognised as part of Sweden in 1658, the river running through the town, on which some transportation of goods took place, was almost completely overgrown and despite pleas to restore its function, this did not occur.
A devastating fire in 1846 destroyed the town centre, sparing only a little red wooden cabin which is still standing today. The municipal reform of 1971 made it the seat of the much larger Kungsbacka Municipality. The town began to grow as a part of Metropolitan Gothenburg.
[1]

Kungsbacka Parish, Halland, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift add here
Pastorat add here
Län Halland
Landskap Halland
Härad add here
Tingslag add here
Domsaga add here
Fögderi add here
Kommun add here
Militär indelning add here


Place Names[edit | edit source]

No placename. Parish is divided by Roten.

Husförhör 1847 - 1850 has an index on bild 60 of family-names and page number where they appear. Not alphabetized.

Husförhör 1851 - 1857 has an index on bild 172 of family-names and page number where they appear. Alphabetized.


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes
    • 1890, with populations -86 Onsala   2,590, 87 Vallda   2,053, 83 Tölö   1,706,  80 Fjärås   3,560, 82 Hanhals   851

https://sok.riksarkivet.se/folkrakningar?infosida=karta-1890-halland


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Halland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Halland" and then select your parish.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

References[edit | edit source]

Kungsbacka Församling Husförhörslängd 1851 - 1857 name index.