Kvænangen Parish, Troms, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Kvænangen, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Kvænangen Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Nordlandene
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1789: Nordlandene, 1789-1866: Finmmarken, 1866-1919: Tromsø
Fylke 1919-Present Troms
Region add here
Prestegjeld Skjervøy
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Skjervøy
Fogderi Senja og Tromsø
Sorenskriveri Lyngen
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Kvænangen is a parish in Skjervøy clerical district. Records begin in 1748.

Parish heading list shows the Norwegain headings on the parish records with an English translations for each of the different forms used throughout the records beginning in 1814. Prior to that time the records were kept in a journal format which varies with each parish.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1801, 1865, 1875 see Skjervøy clerical district.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

30 Aarøen, 9 Alteidet nordre,

26 Badderbotn, 21 Bankenes, 39 Berg, 10 Brøskift, 16 Bugtene,s 14 Burfjordvandet,

42 Fjeldnes,

8 Havnebugten, 22 Hjellnes,

45 Jupanvik, 7 Jøkelfjordeidet,

14 Kaasen, 37 Karvik, 31 Kjækan, 29 Kjøllefjord, 19 Kviteberg, 33 Kvænangsbotn,

5 Langnes, 18 Løkeng, 35 Løkvik,

20 Moldvik,

25 Nappen, 32 Nordbotn, 13 Nordkjosen, 28 Nordstrømmen, 40 Nøklan,

44 Olaberget, 8 Olderbakken, 2 Olderfjord,

38 Rakkenes, 22 Ravelsnes, 23 Ravelsvik, 3 Reinfjord, 2 Rødøen,

6 Saltnes, 41 Sandøren, 1 Seglvik, 42 Skagen, 41 Skorpen, 8 Sletnes, 43 Spilderbugten, 42 Spilderen, 17 Stajord, 31 Storbugten, 11 Storsletten, 35 Strømmen indre, 27 Sækkemoen, 15 Sørkjosen, 36 Sørstrømmen,

4 Tverfjord,

24 Under Eidet,

41 Vaagen, 44 Valan

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1690-1866 Tromsø judicial district.

1776-1809 Troms County judicial district.

1697-1824 Troms and Senja deanery.

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names