Lambley, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Lambley, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Basford|
|Parish registers: 1652|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1601|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
LAMBLEY (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Basford, S. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton and of the county of Nottingham, 5¾ miles (N. E.) from Nottingham.
Lambley Holy Trinity is an Ancient Parish in the Gedling district of Nottinghamshire.
Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the history of this church Lambley Holy Trinity
The church of Holy Trinity has been designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage British listed building
There were 3 Methodist Chapels here for further history Lambley Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district
Church records[edit | edit source]
Lambley Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|LAMBLEY PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1652-1944 Marriages 1654-1948 Burials 1653-1918 & 1972 Bishop's transcripts 1601-1826
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Lambley
Lambley Holy Trinity. Alphabetical listing of Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1806, both inside and outside the Church, also Lambley Burial Ground, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 54, pages 17-23, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..