Lamesley, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Lamesley, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Durham, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Chester le Street|
|Registration District||Chester le Street|
|Parish registers: 1603|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1765|
|Rural Deanery||Chester le Street|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham County Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
LAMESLEY, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Chester-le-Street, Middle division of Chester ward, N division of the county of Durham. At Eighton-Banks are two small places of worship for Wesleyans.
Lamesley was a chapelry within the ancient parish of Chester le Street. The chapelry which had stood on the site previously was rebuilt and extended in 1759 with subsequent additions in 1821 and restoration in 1884. The parish includes Hedley, Ravensworth and Kibblesworth.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
- Type the name of the parish in the search bar
- Click on the location pin on the map
- Choose Options from the pop up box
- Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
Due to the increasing access of online records:
- Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
- Dates in the following table are approximate
Hover over the collection's title for more information
|Lemesley Online Parish Records|
|FamilySearch Parish Registers-Durham|
|Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog|
|Find My Past-Durham ($)|
|Ancestry-England Select Births, Marriages, Death, and Burials ($)|
|Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage|
|Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)|
|National Burial Index-FMP (Free)|
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.
- Joiner Marriage Index - Durham ($)
- The Genealogist Parish Registers - Durham ($)
- UK Websites for Parish Records - Links to online genealogical records
- Online Genealogical Index - Links to online genealogical records
- England, Northumberland, Cumberland, Durham, Miscellaneous Records (FamilySearch) - free
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy From Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Betts, Enid. A Sanderson Family and Its Branches. History of Stepen Sanderson born 1811, and his wife Elizabeth Aisbitt and descendants. According to the IGI the Sandersons were in Houghton le Spring, from the late 1500s. Other areas the descendants were in: Eighton Banks, Gateshead Pelaw, Bishop Wearmouth, with a branch going to USA and another branch to Australia. Surnames mention: Liddell, Fenwick, Wynn, Armstrong, Hunter, Best, Murray, Reay, Lockey, Wanless and Smith. Article dated 1560-1985, and is found in The Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal, vol.27, no.3, pages 92-95. Family History Library Reference 942.8 B2jo v.27.no.3.(autumn 2002)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Lamesley on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2103.