Lanarkshire, Scotland Genealogy
|Lanarkshire Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Lanarkshire County ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
Lanarkshire is an extensive inland county in the south of Scotland, bounded on the north by the counties of Dumbarton and Stirling, on the east by the counties of Linlithgow, Edinburgh and Peebles, on the south by Dumfriesshire, and on the west by the counties of Renfrew, Ayr and Dumfries. It is about 52 miles in length and 33 miles in extreme breadth, comprising an area of 926 square miles or 592,640 acres.
The county, also called Clydesdale (or Strathclyde), from the valley of the river Clyde, was--after the departure of the Romans--part of an extensive independent kingdom which consisted of nearly all of Scotland south of the river Forth. The inhabitants were ancient British tribes who lost their independence after their metropolis of Dumbarton was taken by the combined forces of the Picts and Saxons in the eighth century. After the subjugation of the Picts by Kenneth II in about the year 971, the whole area came under the authority of the Scottish kings.
Lanarkshire consists of 50 parishes and, for civil purposes, is divided into the Upper, Middle and Lower wards, each under a sub-sheriff based at Lanark, Hamilton, and Glasgow. The county includes the royal burghs of Glasgow, Rutherglen, and Lanark, and eight towns and numerous villages.
ScotlandsPeople: An Important Online Source[edit | edit source]
ScotlandsPeople is one of the largest online sources of original genealogical information. If you are researching UK genealogy, your Scottish ancestry or building your Scottish family tree, they have more than 100 million records to look through.
The comprehensive choice of Scottish records includes:
For more detail on record availability, see Guides. For the content guide to what records are on the site, see Guides A-Z. More information on the site, its contents, and instructions for using it can be found in the ScotlandsPeople Wiki article. Indexes may be searched for free, and there is a pay per view fee to see the digitized record.
Census[edit | edit source]
Many census records have been indexed by surname. Some indexes cover one parish (and will be listed in the Wiki on the parish page) and some indexes are for the county as a whole. The Family History Library has county-wide census placename indexes for Lanarkshire for 1881. Click here for other census indexes available at the library.
- ScotlandsPeople, index, images, free index, pay per view ($)
- Scotland Census, 1841, no images. Also at MyHeritage, index, ($). Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1851, no images. Also at MyHeritage, index, ($). Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1861, no images. Also at MyHeritage, index, ($). Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1871, no images. Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1881, no images. Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1891, no images. Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1901 at FamilySearch — index.
- Scotland Census, 1901, index and images, ($). Also at findmypast, index, ($). Also at Ancestry.com, index, ($).
- Scotland Census, 1911, index and images, ($).
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1658 - 1919 - Scotland Church Records and Kirk Session Records, 1658-1919 at FamilySearch — index
- 1642 - 1855 - Scotland, Lanarkshire Death & Burial Index 1642-1855 - index ($)
- 1736 - 1990 - Scotland Presbyterian & Protestant Church Records, 1736-1990 at FamilySearch — index
Civil Registration or Statutory Registers[edit | edit source]
For details on information found in statutory registers and other methods of searching them, see Scotland Statutory Registers - Vital Records.
Parishes[edit | edit source]
Some of the Lanarkshire parish records are indexed in *Lanark, Scotland, Extracted Parish Records.
- This database is a collection of historical parish registers from the county of Lanark in the country of Scotland. The records in this collection can range in date from the early 1500s to the mid- to late-1800s. The records include baptisms/christenings, burials, marriages, tombstone inscriptions, obituaries, tax lists, wills, and other miscellaneous types of records. Also included are some records from non-conformist churches. You will find interesting phonetic spelling. Some of the records may be in Latin or even a Welsh or Scottish dialect. Due to the nature of the records and because the records were originally compiled by a third party, it is difficult to absolutely verify the completeness and validity of the data.
Here is a list of historic parishes for the county of Lanark with their parish numbers. Click on a parish name to see information about records.
|Cadder||626||Lamington -- see Wandell||659|
|Cambusnethan||628||Leadhills -- see Crawford||635|
|Carmunnock||631||New Monkland (including Airdrie)||651|
|Carnwath||632||Old Monkland (including Coatbridge)||652|
|Covington and Thankerton||634||Roberton -- see Wiston||660|
|Crawford (including Leadhills)||635||Rutherglen||654|
|Dalserf||638||Strathbungo -- see Govan||646|
|Dolphington||640||Thankerton -- see Covington||634|
|Dunsyre||642||Wandell and Lamington||659|
|East Kilbride||643||Wiston and Roberton||660|
Maps[edit | edit source]
- National Library of Scotland map collection
- Click here to see an outline map of the parishes of Lanarkshire.
Poorhouse Records[edit | edit source]
NOTE: Workhouses in Scotland were commonly known as poorhouses. For more information on Scottish poorhouses, go to the Scotland Poorhouses, Poor Law, Etc page.
There were ten workhouses in this county:
- Barony (Glasgow)
- Cambusnethan, Mothwerwell, Omoa Combination
- Douglas/Carnwath Combination
- Glasgow City
- Hamilton Combination
- New Monkland
- Old Monkland
A description with drawings and photos of the workhouses today along with databases of those living there from the 1881 Census are provided on the links above located on the site entitled The Workhouse: The story of an institution... which is owned and operated by Peter Higginbotham.
- 1849-1917: North Lanarkshire, Scotland, Poor Law Applications and Registers, 1849-1917 at Ancestry - index & images, ($)
Societies[edit | edit source]
Glasgow & West of Scotland Family History Society
Unit 13, 32 Mansfield Street
Tel. +44 (0) 141 339 8303
Scottish Genealogy Society
15 Victoria Terrace
Phone-0131 220 3677
Lanarkshire Family History Society
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Lanarkshire Resources and help pages on RootsChat Lanarkshire Resources and help pages. (Free).
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel Lewis. Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, (London, England: S. Lewis and Co., 1846), 3 v.: 651, [FHL book 941 E5]. Digitized by FamilySearch International, FamilySearch.org, https://www.familysearch.org/search/catalog/216925 (accessed June 7, 2016).
- Samuel Lewis. "Ladhope - Lauder," in A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, (London, 1846), 137-157. British History Online, http://www.british-history.ac.uk/topographical-dict/scotland/pp137-157 (accessed May 31, 2020).