Lancashire, England Genealogy

Lancashire Wiki Topics
Beginning Research
Guided Research Research Strategies Record Finder
Record Types
Cemeteries Census Church Records Church History Civil Registration Court Records Directories Emigration and Immigration Genealogy	Land & Property Military Records Newspapers Occupations Parishes Periodicals Probate Records Schools Taxation Voting Records
Lancashire Background
History Jurisdictions	Maps
Local Research Resources
Archives & Libraries Societies Family History Centers

United Kingdom

England

Lancashire

Guide to Lancashire ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records, Lancashire Parishes - a list.

Lancashire England

Lancashire, England Online Genealogy Records Ask the
Community

County Information

Lancashire, is a maritime county located in the North West of England. It is sometimes called the County of Lancaster.

By 1850 Lancashire was comprised of 75 ancient parishes, each with mostly large boundaries. However, with over 400 smaller chapels  in Lancashire (called chapelries, chapels of ease, district chapels or ecclesiastical churches), most parishes on average had 8 chapels which sub-divided them.

You can also check John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales or, Samuel A. Lewis' A Topographical Dictionary of England to determine whether your 'parish' was in fact a "parish" or, if it was instead a chapel of ease (chapelry) within a large parish boundary, etc.

Parishes and Chapelries

Click on a letter for a list of Wiki page links to Lancashire parishes and chapelries: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

The following interactive map enables researchers to make sense of this county's jurisdictional makeup:  1851 Jurisdictions Map. 

Civil Registration Districts

List of Lancashire Civil Registration Districts and the parishes they contain.

Websites

• Lancashire Online Parish Clerks Links to extracted data from many of the parishes in Lancashire.
• GENUKI UK & Ireland Genealogy
• RootsChat Lancashire Resources and help pages Free Family History Help in Lancashire
• 1930 - England and Wales National Register, 1939 at FamilySearch — index