Lanercost with Kirkcambeck, Cumberland Genealogy
Guide to Lanercost with Kirkcambeck, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Lanercost with Kirkcambeck, Cumberland|
|Poor Law Union||Brampton|
|Parish registers: 1684|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1666|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
LANERCOST-ABBEY (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the union of Brampton, Eskdale ward, E. division of Cumberland, 2½ miles (N. E.) from Brampton. Brampton, comprises the ancient parish of Kirk Cambeck. 
Kirkcambeck, was an an extra-parochial parish in the township of Askerton in the parish of Lanercost. It was less then 1/2 mile square and shared a border with the parishes of Stapleton and Walton.
"ASKERTON, is a township in the parish of Lanercost, 15 miles N.N.E. from Carlisle. It includes the ancient parish of Kirkcambeck or Cambeck, the church of which was destroyed by the Scots in the reign of Edward II. Askerton Castle stands on the eastern bank of the Cambeck. Two of the towers still remain, and are now connected with modern buildings, and occupied as a farmstead..." Historical & descriptive guide to Carlisle and district, published 1881 by Albert Barnes Moss
Resources[edit | edit source]
If you live in Cumbria then you will have access to a variety of resources; however, for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers. Refer to Lanercost and Cumberland in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Church records[edit | edit source]
Parish registers for Lanercost, 1684-1990
Bishop's transcripts for Lanercost, 1666-1876
Parish registers for Chapelry of Gilsland, 1856-1978
Bishop's transcripts Chapelry of Gilsland, 1856-1880
Lanercost with Kirkcambeck, Cumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|LANERCOST PARISH Online Records|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
1831 Census free google ebook
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Lanercost on GENUKI