Lavangen Parish, Troms, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Lavengen, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Lavangen Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Nordlandene
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1789: Nordlandene, 1789-1866: Finmmarken, 1866-1919: Tromsø
Fylke 1919-Present Troms
Region add here
Prestegjeld Salangen
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Salangen
Fogderi Senja og Tromsø
Sorenskriveri Senjen
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Salangen clerical district contains church records for Salangen and Lavangen parishes in Troms County, Norway. They were separated from Ibestad clerical district in 1907. For records before 1865 see Ibestad clerical district.

Parish heading list shows the Norwegian headings on the parish records with an English translations for each of the different forms used throughout the records beginning in 1814. Prior to that time the records were kept in a journal format which varies with each parish.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.


Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1801, (1825, 1845, 1846), 1865, 1875, 1891, 1900 see Ibestad clerical district.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1706-1877 Senja judicial district.

1776-1809 Troms County judicial district.

1697-1824 Troms and Senja deanery.

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

  • Lavangsminne.Yearbook containing local history and genealogies of the people from Lavangen, Troms County, Norway.

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

7 Aa,

9 Finnøren, 3 Fjeldet, 14 Forsbakken,

5 Gamvik,

9 Hesjevik, 23 Hestehagen, 22 Hestnes, 17 Holmen,

23 Kjeiprød, 24 Kjeiprødpladsen,

1 Lavangsnes, 4 Lien, 19 Lotternes,

21 Marines,

12 Oldernes,

25 Reinland, 2 Reite, 6 Rød, 20 Røkenes,

15 Sandmælen, 27 Skjelnes, 26 Skjelnespladsen, 13 Skreberget, 8 Soløi, 10 Spansdalen, 11 Spansdalsmarken 16 Storsletten,

18 Tennevold

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names