Lee County, Florida Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Lee County, Florida ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Fort Myers
Organized: May 13, 1887
Parent County(s): Monroe[1]
Neighboring Counties
Charlotte  • Collier  • Glades  • Hendry  •
See County Maps
Courthouse
Florida Lee Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Fl-lee.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Robert E. Lee, general in the American Civil War.[2] The County is located in the Southwest area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Lee County Courthouse
2115 2nd St;
Fort Myers, FL 33901
Phone: 941-335-2283
Lee County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate court and land records.

Lee County, Florida Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1899 1880s 1899 unknown 1887 1899 1830
*Statewide registration of births and deaths began in 1899. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Lee, Florida online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Florida Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Lee County cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1890 1,414
1900 3,071 117.2%
1910 6,294 104.9%
1920 9,540 51.6%
1930 14,990 57.1%
1940 17,488 16.7%
1950 23,404 33.8%
1960 54,539 133.0%
1970 105,216 92.9%
1980 205,266 95.1%
1990 335,113 63.3%
2000 440,888 31.6%
2010 618,754 40.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing census records online, see: Florida Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Florida Territorial Land Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for most counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Charlotte CountyGlades CountyHendry CountyCollier CountyFL LEE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • News-Press
    2442 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
    Fort Myers, FL 33901
    Telephone: 239-335-0200
  • Microfilm for the Fort Myers News-Press from 1884 to the present can be found at the Fort Myers Regional Library
    2450 First Street
    Fort Myers, Florida 33901
  • USGenWeb Archives Early Florida Newspapers at the Florida State Library

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

  • Florida Obituaries USGenWeb Archives Obituary transcriptions from Florida counties
  • 1930 and 1997 - Obituary Index Online searchable database. Lee County Genealogical Society volunteers will be happy to help you with your request for an obituary copy.

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voting Records[edit | edit source]

1885-1909 - "Voter Registration Records, Town of Fort Myers and Lee County, Florida 1885-1909". A limited printing was done with copies being donated to the Fort Myers Regional Library, the Southwest Florida Museum of History, the Southwest Florida Historical Society, the State Library of Florida, and the Lee County Genealogical Society.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, Florida State Archives, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Lee County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Florida Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Fort Myers Regional Library
2450 First Street
Ft Myers FL 33901
Phone: 239-533-4626
website

As of December 2017, The Fort Myers Regional Library has been upgraded to the status of a Family History Library Affiliate.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Lee County. For state-wide library facilities, see Florida Archives and Libraries.

Fort Myers Regional Library
2450 First Street
Ft Myers Florida 33901
Phone: 239-533-4626
website

The Lee County Library System has 14 libraries and branches throughout the county. Visit the main library website for locations and address's.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Lee County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Florida Societies.
Lee County Genealogical Society, Inc.
PO Box 150153
Cape Coral, FL 33915-0153
Telephone: 239-246-5185
E-mail:GenHelp@LCGSFL.org
Website

Bonita Springs Genealogy Club
PO Box 366471
Bonita Springs, FL 34136
Website

Southwest Florida Pioneers Historical Society
PO Box 274
Boca Grande, FL 33921
Website

Florida Historical Society
435 Brevard Ave.
Cocoa FL 32922
Phone: 321-690-1971
Website

Florida State Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 940927
Maitland, FL 32794-0927
Phone: 407-494-3747
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

45px
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Lee County, Florida Genealogy and History”, genealogy trails accessed 04/25/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Lee County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia 04/25/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Lee County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia accessed 26 January 2019.