To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Lenawee County, Michigan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Lenawee County, Michigan ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Lenawee County, Michigan
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Michigan
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
Facts
Founded September 10, 1822
County Seat Adrian
Courthouse
Address Lenawee County Courthouse
425 N Main Street
Adrian, MI 49221
Phone: 517-264-4606
Lenawee County Website


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for a Native American word meaning "male", from the Delaware "leno or lenno" or the Shawnee "lenawai". The County has Adrian as its seat and the County was created September 10, 1826. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[1]

Lenawee County, Michigan Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1867 1867 1867 1870 1827 1827 1820
Statewide registration started in 1867 for births and deaths. General compliance by 1915.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]


County Clerk has birth, marriage and death records from 1867, divorce and court records from 1870.[3]

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1822--Lenawee County was created 10 September 1822 from Monroe County. It was attached to Monroe County prior to organization 31 December 1826. County seat: Adrian [4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1852 A fire on March 4, 1852 destroyed the courthouse and most of the files.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


Adrian

Ogden

Palmyra

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Fulton County, Ohio  • Hillsdale  • Jackson • Lucas County, Ohio  • Monroe  • Washtenaw

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MIGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MIInterment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Michigan Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

State Census

Church[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.

Court[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Lenawee County, Michigan Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.

An excellent source for early history of Tecumseh, Lenawee County, Michigan can be found in One Hundred Years-A Country Town:The Village of Tecumseh, Michigan 1824-1924 by Clara Waldron. Published by Thomas A Riordan, 1968.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Jackson CountyWashtenaw CountyMonroe CountyHillsdale CountyFulton CountyLucas CountyMI LENAWEE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Lenawee County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies and regiments that had many men from Lenawee County.

- 12th Regiment, Michigan Infantry, Company F
- 17th Regiment, Michigan Infantry, Company A
- Engineer Regiment of the West, Missouri Volunteers (Union), Company E

Online Records

World War I[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Finding More Michigan Newspapers[edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lenawee County, Michigan Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Michigan, Lenawee and search for Probate records in the list.

Note: Not every county in Michigan will have Probate Records in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:

Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.

Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Lenawee County Historical Society
    110 E. Church St.
    Adrian, MI 49221
    Phone: 517-265-6071
    Website
  • Adrian District Library
    143 E. Maumee St.
    Adrian, MI 49221
    Phone: 517-265-2265
    Website
  • Bean Creek Valley Historical Society
    205 So. Market Church
    Hudson, MI 49247
  • Blissfield Area Historical Society
    105 N. Lane Street
    Blissfield, MI 49228
  • Onsted Community Historical Society
    1145 Sand Lake
    Onsted, MI 49265

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Lenawee County, Michigan" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lenawee_County,_Michigan."
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lenawee County, Michigan . Page 343-351 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 346-349.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lenawee County, Michigan page 347, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Lenawee County, Michigan," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lenawee_County,_Michigan, accessed 22 October 2019.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.