Lenton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Lenton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Radford|
|Parish registers: 1540|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
LENTON (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Radford, S. division of the wapentake of Broxtow, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 1½ mile (S. W.) from Nottingham. At Hyson-Green is a second church, dedicated to St. Paul, and consecrated April 18th, 1844. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Lenton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|LENTON PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1598- 1952 Marriages 1557-1956 Burials 1540-1973
Lenton Holy Trinity Bishop's Transcripts 1600-1837
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Lenton
Lenton - Holy Trinity Memorial Inscriptions. Article gives an alphabetical listing of surname, given names, date of death and age, starting 1853 onwards. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 97, pages41-43, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015. Lenton Priory.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..