To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Leybourne, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Leybourne, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Leybourne, Kent
Leybourne St Peter & St Paul Kent.jpg
Leybourne St Peter & St Paul Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Larkfield
County Kent
Poor Law Union Malling
Registration District Malling
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1716
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malling
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

LEYBOURNE (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Malling, hundred of Larkfield, lathe of Aylesford, W division of Kent, 5 miles NW by W from Maidstone. [1]

Leybourne is a village and civil parish in the Tonbridge and Malling district of Kent, see Leybourne Wikipedia.

Leybourne St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Rochester; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you.
Church website

The church of St Peter and St Paul Castle Way Leybourne has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Kent Archaeological Society, Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 4 (1798), pp. 496-508 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

This parish was from 1837 in the Malling registration district

See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Leybourne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Leybourne Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1875 (gaps)
1817-1837

FS BTs 1716-1875 1716-1875 1716-1875
IGI 1560-1812 1560-1812

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Leybourne 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 78-85. Date accessed: 19 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.

FamilySearch

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.