Liberty County, Florida Genealogy
Guide to Liberty County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Liberty County, Florida|
Location in the state of Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
|Founded||December 15, 1855|
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 3.1 Parent County
- 3.2 Description
- 3.3 Boundary Changes
- 3.4 Record Loss
- 3.5 Places / Localities
- 3.6 Resources
- 3.6.1 Cemeteries
- 3.6.2 Census
- 3.6.3 Church
- 3.6.4 Cites
- 3.6.5 Court
- 3.6.6 Immigration
- 3.6.7 Land
- 3.6.8 Local Histories
- 3.6.9 Maps
- 3.6.10 Military
- 3.6.11 Newspapers
- 3.6.12 Probate
- 3.6.13 Vital Records
- 3.7 Societies and Libraries
- 3.8 Websites
- 3.9 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Liberty County Clerk of Court
10818 NW SR 20 P.O. Box 399 Bristol, FL. 32321
Liberty County, Florida Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Liberty County Courthouse
Hwy 20; PO Box 399
Bristol, FL 32321
County Judge has marriage and probate records
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records. 
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County Seat is Bristol and the county was created 1855. The County is located in the Northwest area of the state.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web site may have additional information on Liberty County cemeteries.
- Interment.net Florida cemetery records
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Liberty County, Florida Genealogy census records online, see: Florida Census.
- 1783 Spanish Census USGenWeb
- 1821 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
- 1823 Census/Tax List Index USGenWeb
- 1880 Census African Born Blacks and Mulattos USGenWeb
- Federal Census Information from National Archives USGenWeb
- State Census Information from Florida State Archives USGenWeb
- Census of Pensioners Revolutionary Military Service USGenWeb
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
Churches of Liberty Co. - The FLGenWeb Project
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Cites[edit | edit source]
Court[edit | edit source]
Immigration[edit | edit source]
NARA Ships Passenger Lists
These passenger lists cover:
1834 - 1897 Immigration of Russians to the United States
1/12/1846 -12/31/1851 Irish Famine
1850 - 1897 Germans to the United States
1855 - 1900 Italians to the United States
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Liberty County, Florida Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
- Liberty County Military Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Liberty County Military Information (FLGenWeb Project)
- Florida State Military Files USGenWeb
- Florida state pension records from various wars Pension Transcriptions USGenWeb
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1885 - 1955 - Florida Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1955 at FamilySearch — images only
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917 - 1918 - Liberty County Civilian Draft Registration (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1917 - 1920 - Florida, World War I Navy Card Roster, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Introduction to World War I Service Cards (FLGenWeb Project)
- Liberty County World War I Service Cards (FLGenWeb Project)
- Index of Names from WPA Veterans Graves Files, Liberty County, Florida (USGenWeb Archives)
World War II[edit | edit source]
- Liberty County World War II Army Enlistees (USGenWeb Archives)
- Liberty County World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel (Genealogy Trails)
- 1940-1945 - Florida, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Korean War[edit | edit source]
- Liberty County Korean War Casualties (Genealogy Trails)
- Florida Casualties in the Korean Conflict distantcousin.com
Vietnam War[edit | edit source]
- Florida Casualties in the Vietnam War distantcousin.com
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Liberty County, Florida Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Early Florida Newspapers at the Florida State Library USGenWeb
Probate[edit | edit source]
- 1784 – 1990 Florida Probate Records 1784-1990 at FamilySearch — images
- 1810 – 1974 Florida Wills and Probate Records 1810-1974 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, Florida State Archives, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Death Records[edit | edit source]
- 1877 - 1939 Florida, Deaths, 1877-1939 at FamilySearch — index
- 1900 - 1921 Florida, Deaths and Burials, 1900-1921 at FamilySearch — index
- 1877 - 1998 Florida, Death Index, 1877-1998 at FamilySearch — index
Divorce Records[edit | edit source]
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1802 - 1998 - Florida, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1837 - 1974 - Florida, Marriages, 1837-1974 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1830 - 1993 - Florida, Marriages, 1830-1993 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
- 1830 - 1957 - Florida, County Marriages, 1830-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1822 - 1875 and 1927 - 2001 - Florida, Marriage Index, 1822-1875 and 1927-2001 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1857-1930 - Liberty County Marriage Books 1-3 Index 1857-1930 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Florida Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Florida Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Liberty County, Florida (USGenWeb Archives)
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Liberty County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Liberty County (FLGenWeb Project, Inc.)
- Liberty County, Florida (Genealogy Trails)
- Liberty County (FLGenWeb)
- Liberty County FL Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Liberty County, Florida . Page 133-137 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 143-145.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Liberty County, Florida Page 135 At various libraries WorldCat; FHL Book 973 D27e 2002 FamilySearch.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Liberty County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liberty_County,_Florida 04/25/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Liberty County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liberty,_County,_Florida, accessed 30 January 2019.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/54/Igiflorida.pdf.