Lichfield St Mary, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Lichfield St Mary, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Lichfield St Mary, Staffordshire|
|County||Staffordshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Lichfield|
|Parish registers: 1566|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1659|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Lichfield|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Lichfield St Mary is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Staffordshire. Non-Church of England denominations identified in Lichfield St Mary include: Independent/Congregational and Wesleyan Methodist. The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Lichfield, but the exact parish has not been identified: Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and Society of Friends/Quaker. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Staffordshire BMD have indexes for births. Due to March 2011 reorganisation of the registration service for South Staffordshire districts the historical registration indexes for this district have been located at the Newcastle under Lyme registration district (formerly held at Lichfield) and applications for certificates need to be directed there. Please refer to the "Updates" page of Staffordshire BMD for further information.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Lichfield St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years: