To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Lincoln County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

 

Guide to Lincoln County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Star City
Organized: March 28, 1871
Parent County(s): Arkansas, Bradley, Desha, Drew, and Jefferson[1]
Neighboring Counties
Arkansas  • Cleveland  • Desha  • Drew  • Jefferson
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasLincolnCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-lincoln.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Abraham Lincoln. It is located in the Southeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Lincoln County Courthouse
300 S Drew Street
Star City, AR 71667
Phone: 870.628.5114
Lincoln County Website

County Clerk has marriage, probate and land records from 1871 and tax records.[3]

Lincoln County, Arkansas[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1871 1914* 1871 1871 1871 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
  • Avery
  • Branchville
  • Cades
  • Calhoun
  • Cornerville
  • Crigler
  • Cummins Unit
  • Douglas
  • Feenyville
  • Flynn
  • Fresno
  • Garnett
  • Garrett Bridge
  • Glendale
  • Gourd
  • Little Garnett
  • Maroney
  • Mills
  • Nebo
  • Palmyra
  • Phenix
  • Relfs Bluff
  • Rose Hill
  • Sarassa
  • Shannon Tank
  • Tarry
  • Tyro
  • Varner
  • Warrenton
  • Whitefield
  • Woodville
  • Yorktown
Townships
  • Gould (contains Gould)
  • Kimbrough
  • Lone Pine
  • Mill Creek
  • Owen
  • Smith
  • Spring
  • Wells Bayou


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Lincoln County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [7]

  • 1827 - The McLain, Lee, and Douglass families, established homes in a community called Auburn.
  • 1836 - Thomas Griffis bought land at what is now Griffith Springs and built a cotton gin.
  • 1846 - John S. Hall and his family arrived from South Carolina and established Hall’s Station.
  • 1847 May - Elias King Hays arrived from Tennessee and established Cornerville in southwestern Lincoln County.
  • 1871 March 28 - Lincoln County was established.
  • 1930-2010 - The population of Lincoln County hit a high mark of 20,200 in 1930, a low of 12,900 in 1970 and is now (2010) at 14,100.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Lincoln, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1880 9,255
1890 10,255 10.8%
1900 13,389 30.6%
1910 15,118 12.9%
1920 18,774 24.2%
1930 20,250 7.9%
1940 19,709 −2.7%
1950 17,079 −13.3%
1960 14,447 −15.4%
1970 12,913 −10.6%
1980 13,369 3.5%
1990 13,690 2.4%
2000 14,492 5.9%
2010 14,134 −2.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Jefferson CountyArkansas CountyCleveland CountyBradley CountyDrew CountyDesha CountyAR LINCOLN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lincoln County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Birth Records reveal
Yes or Maybe
 Y  M
Name of Child Green check.png  
Birth Date and Place Green check.png  
Parent's Names Green check.png  
Mother's Maiden Name   Green check.png
Parent's Ages Green check.png  
Father's Occupation Green check.png  
Current Residence Green check.png  
Name of Doctor or Midwife Green check.png  

In 1877, a few county and city clerks[8] started keeping birth and death records.

In 1914, the state law required all county clerks to record births and forward them to the state.

ArrowGreen.svg.png

See also: • Arkansas Online Genealogy Records, • How to Find Arkansas Birth Records and • Arkansas Vital Records—Birth.

  • 1876 - 1927 - Lincoln County Birth Index 1876-1927. Batch C748473 at FamilySearch - free.
  • 1882 - - Lincoln County Birth Index 1882-1885. Batch C586031 at FamilySearch - free.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Arkansas
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Arkansas. Page 68 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 66.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Arkansas, accessed 3 September 2018.
  7. Guy Lancaster, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=784&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 14, 2016), “Lincoln County.”
  8. such as Sebastian County (Fort Smith) and Pulaski County (Little Rock) (No entry in FamilySearch Catalog found for Pulaski County nor for Little Rock, Aug 2014)
  9. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages - FamilySearch Historical Records," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  10. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.