Lincoln County, Maine Genealogy
Guide to Lincoln County, Maine ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Lincoln County, Maine | |
| Map | |
 Location in the state of Maine, United States Genealogy | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | June 19, 1760 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Wiscasset |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Lincoln County Courthouse High Street PO Box 249; Wiscasset, ME 04578-0000 Phone: 207.882.6311 Lincoln County Website |
Contents
- 1 Description
- 2 Lincoln County, Maine Record Dates
- 3 County Courthouse
- 4 History
- 5 Places / Localities
- 6 Resources
- 7 Societies and Libraries
- 8 Websites
- 9 References
Description[edit | edit source]
Lincoln County was named for Lincoln, England. The county is located in the southern area of the state.[1]
Lincoln County, Maine Record Dates[edit | edit source]
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1892 | 1860 | 1892 | 1761 | 1860 | 1760 | 1790 |
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
- 1860 and 1861 - Clerk Courts has marriage, probate and land records from 1860 and court records from 1861.
- 1760-1764 - Clerk Superior Court has probate records from 1760 to 1764. [3]
History[edit | edit source]
- Named for English city, Lincoln in Lincolnshire, England
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
- 7 counties were created over the years:
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Sagadahoc | Kennebec | Waldo | Knox
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this census area:[12]
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Unorganized territories | ||
|
|
|
Plantations[13]
Extinct towns and plantations[14]
Collamore Ridge Plantation | Hibbert Plantation | Muscongus Isle Plantation (aka Louds Island)
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census Record[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1790 | 29,733 | — |
| 1800 | 30,225 | 1.7% |
| 1810 | 42,992 | 42.2% |
| 1820 | 53,189 | 23.7% |
| 1830 | 57,192 | 7.5% |
| 1840 | 63,517 | 11.1% |
| 1850 | 74,875 | 17.9% |
| 1860 | 27,860 | −62.8% |
| 1870 | 25,597 | −8.1% |
| 1880 | 24,821 | −3.0% |
| 1890 | 21,996 | −11.4% |
| 1900 | 19,669 | −10.6% |
| 1910 | 18,216 | −7.4% |
| 1920 | 15,976 | −12.3% |
| 1930 | 15,498 | −3.0% |
| 1940 | 16,294 | 5.1% |
| 1950 | 18,004 | 10.5% |
| 1960 | 18,497 | 2.7% |
| 1970 | 20,537 | 11.0% |
| 1980 | 25,691 | 25.1% |
| 1990 | 30,357 | 18.2% |
| 2000 | 33,616 | 10.7% |
| 2010 | 34,450 | 2.5% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
| Tombstone Transcriptions Online | Tombstone Transcriptions in Print | List of Cemeteries in the county |
| Findagrave.com | Family History Library | Findagrave.com |
| USGenWeb | WorldCat | Billion Graves |
| USGenWeb Archives | FamilySearch Places | |
| Tombstone Project | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
| See Maine Cemeteries for more information. | ||
- 1620-2014 - Maine, Tombstone Inscriptions, Surname Index, 1620-2014 at FamilySearch - How to Use This Collection
- 1676-1918 - Maine, Veterans Cemetery Records, 1676-1918 at FamilySearch - How to Use This Collection
- 1780-1999 - Maine, J. Gary Nichols Cemetery Collection, ca. 1780-1999 at FamilySearch - How to Use This Collection
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
- 1718-1957 - Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch - How to Use This Collection
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
- 1837 - 1965 - Maine & Massachusetts Case Files of Deceased and Deserted Seamen 1837-1965 at FamilySearch - How to Use This Collection
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Maine Land and Property for additional information about early Maine land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- 1718-1957 - Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch - How to Use This Collection
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Lincoln County, Maine Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Maine Local Histories.
- The History of Ancient Sheepscot and Newcastle. 1882. By David Quimby Cushman. Bath, Maine : E. Upton & Son, Printers. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Google Books, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
- History of Boothbay, Southport and Boothbay Harbor, Maine, 1623-1905. c1906. By Francis B. Greene. Portland, Maine : Loring, Short & Harmon. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
for more resources
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1676 - 1918 - Maine, Veterans Cemetery Records, 1676-1918 at FamilySearch - How to Use This Collection
- 1718 - 1957 - Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch - How to Use This Collection
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
- 1835 - 1838 - Maine Revolutionary War Bounty Land Applications 1835-1838 at FamilySearch - How to Use This Collection
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Service men in Lincoln County, Maine Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lincoln County, Maine Genealogy:
Online Records
- 1962 - 1865 - Maine, Civil War Enlistment Papers, 1862-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use This Collection
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1914 - 1950 - Maine, State Archives, World War I (WWI) Grave Cards, 1914-1950 at FamilySearch - How to Use This Collection
- 1917 - 1919 - Maine, World War I Draft Registration Index, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use This Collection
Naturalization[edit | edit source]
- 1718-1957 - Maine, State Archive Collections, 1718-1957 at FamilySearch - How to Use This Collection
- 1918-1991 - Maine, United States Naturalization Records, 1918-1991 at FamilySearch - How to Use This Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Maine Newspaper Archive Indexes Free; Digital Page Images $ (GenealogyBank $) Twenty-two early Maine 18th and 19th century newspapers, 1785-1898 online. Indexes (free); digital images ($). These newspapers are from Augusta, Bangor, Belfast, Brunswick, Castine, Eastport, Falmouth, Hallowell, Kennebunk, Portland, Saco and Wiscasset.
Wiscasset, Lincoln County, newspapers online:
- 1821-1822 - Lincoln Intelligencer. Indexes Free, digital pages $. At GenealogyBank.
- 1821-1822 - Lincoln Telegraph. Indexes Free, digital pages $. At GenealogyBank.
- 1797-1798 - Wiscasset Argus. Indexes Free, digital pages $. At GenealogyBank.
- 1796-1799 - Wiscasset Telegraph. Indexes Free, digital pages $. At GenealogyBank
Finding More Maine Newspapers[edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Lincoln County, Maine Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Lincoln County, Maine Genealogy Place-name search for these and other records in the FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Places Search).
Probate[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Records
- 1584–1999 - Maine Wills and Probate Records 1584-1999 at Ancestry.com — images and index $
- 1760-1800 - Lincoln County, Maine, Probate Records, 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com $
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.
- 1589-1966 - Maine, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1670 - 1921 - Maine Vital Records, 1670-1921 at FamilySearch - How to Use This Collection
- Vital Records of Old Bristol Nobelboro Maine.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Lincoln County MEGenWeb Project, an member of The MEGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Lincoln County
- FamilySearch Catalog for Lincoln County
- Lincoln County, Maine History and Genealogy (Genealogy Trails)
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County, Maine" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Maine."
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Maine. Page 304-305 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 275.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Maine page 304, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
- ↑ referer=brief_results Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ referer=brief_results Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ referer=brief_results Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ referer=brief_results Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ referer=brief_results Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ referer=brief_results Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ referer=brief_results Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County, Maine," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Maine, accessed 9 July 2019.
- ↑ For further details see Maine Plantations
- ↑ Before an extinct town (or plantation) was discontinued, it created official town records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.
