To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Lincoln County, Nevada Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Lincoln County, Nevada ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Pioche
Organized: February 26, 1866
Parent County(s): Nye[1]
Neighboring Counties
Clark  • Nye  • White Pine  • Beaver (UT)  • Iron (UT)  • Millard (UT)  • Washington (UT)  • Mohave (AZ)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Lincoln+County+Courthouse+Pioche+Nevada.jpg
Location Map
Nv-lincoln.png
Adoption



County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Abraham Lincoln, 16th President of the United States in 1866.[2] It is located in the southeastern area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Lincoln County Courthouse
181 Main Street
Pioche, NV 89043
Phone: 775-962-5390
Lincoln County Website

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1873.[4]

Lincoln County, Nevada Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1887 1873 1887 1873 1873 1873 1850
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Lincoln County boundaries were modified on three other occasions. In 1867, a portion of the western edge of Lincoln County was ceded to Nye County. In 1875, the northern boundary was adjusted following the acquisition of the northeast corner of Nye County. But the largest boundary adjustment occurred in the year 1909, when Lincoln County was split in half and Clark County was formed from the southern half.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Ghost towns

Planned development

Ghost Towns

List of Ghost Towns in Nevada

A selected list, previously posted on this page:

  • Acoma
  • Angle City
  • Atlanta
  • Big Trees
  • Boyd
  • Bristol Well
  • Brown
  • Bullionville
  • Caselton
  • Cold Spring
  • Crossroads
  • Delmar
  • Eberhardt
  • Eccles
  • Flat Nose
  • Galt
  • Groom Lake
  • Helene
  • Horseshoe Bend
  • Hoya
  • Indian Cove
  • Islen
  • Jackrabbit
  • Joseco
  • Kyle
  • Logan City
  • Mendha
  • Mud Springs
  • Ninemile Rocks
  • Pony Springs
  • Prince
  • Rose Valley
  • Rox
  • Stine
  • Strawberry Hill
  • Sundown
  • Tempiute

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Lincoln County, Nevada online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in
Print
(Often
more complete
)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Nevada Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Lincoln county cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1870 2,985
1880 2,637 −11.7%
1890 2,466 −6.5%
1900 3,284 33.2%
1910 3,489 6.2%
1920 2,287 −34.5%
1930 3,601 57.5%
1940 4,130 14.7%
1950 3,837 −7.1%
1960 2,431 −36.6%
1970 2,557 5.2%
1980 3,732 46.0%
1990 3,775 1.2%
2000 4,165 10.3%
2010 5,345 28.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

The first enumeration for Nevada before it was a state in 1864, was in the 1850 Census in both New Mexico and Utah Territories, but the area had not been divided into counties. Those living there may be in the Utah 1851 Census. For 1860, Nevada was again enumerated in New Mexico and Utah Territories. [21] A partial state census exists for Nevada in 1862 and 1863 and a full state census exists for 1875. [22] See links listed below.

State and Territory Census Records[edit | edit source]

Federal Census Records[edit | edit source]

Federal Censuses were taken for the state of Nevada starting in 1870. Although, those living in south-eastern Nevada in 1870 may be enumerated in Utah or Arizona because of disputed boundaries with Nevada.[23] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Nevada Census.

Transcriptions of many Lincoln County federal census records are available online as part of The USGenWeb Project. Click on the links below to search a particular census.

1870 Census | 1880 Census | 1880 Mortality Schedules | 1890 Special Census | 1900 Census | 1900 Indian Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Alamo
  • Caliente
  • Panaca
  • Pioche

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

In the FamilySearch Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Lincoln – LAND AND PROPERTY

Lincoln County Recorder's Office

Record Highlights: Real estate deeds, mortgages, mining deeds and notices, maps, and early vital records (births, marriages, and deaths). Note, only births and deaths prior to 1911 are accessible to the public. Researchers can also access bound volumes of early Lincoln County newspapers, such as the Pioche Daily Record, 1872-1876.

On-site researchers can obtain photocopies of documents from the recorder's office. Researchers are also allowed to take digital photographs of documents. Check with the office for current fees.


For more information see Nevada Land and Property

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

County histories may include biographies of early settlers and residents, church and school information, and local military regiments at the time of publication.

Online County Histories

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Millard CountyBeaver CountyIron CountyWashington CountyClark CountyWhite Pine CountyNye CountyNV LINCOLN.jpg
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Lincoln County, Nevada Genealogy for emigrant settlers included:

Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.




Military Records[edit | edit source]

Online Collections[edit | edit source]

These collections are unique to Nevada. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Nevada Military Records.

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Korea War

Vietnam War

Other Conflicts

For further information see Nevada Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For more information, see Nevada Newspapers.

  • The Lincoln County Record is the official newspaper of Lincoln County. It is published weekly every Thursday. The paper's roots trace back to the early 1870s. Over the course of its history, the paper has been known by several titles: The Ely Record,1870-1872; Pioche Daily Record, 1872-1876; Pioche Weekly Record, 1877-1900; Lincoln County Record, 1900-1905; Pioche Weekly Record, 1906-1908; Pioche Daily Record, 1908-1925; Lincoln County Record, 1925-1932; Pioche Record, 1932-1968; and since 1968, the newspaper has been titled the Lincoln County Record.
  • GenealogyBank ($), contains images of Nevada newspapers
  • Newspaper Archive ($), contains images of Nevada newspapers
  • Chronicling America - contains images of some Nevada newspapers; searching tips
  • Elephind - Free; search engine that retrieves newspaper images from other free newspaper websites
  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Lincoln County Library in Pioche
  • Caliente Branch Library
    100 Depot Avenue
    Caliente, NV 89008
    Phone: 775-726-3104
  • Alamo Branch Library
    100 South First West
    Alamo, NV 89001
    Phone: 775-725-3343
  • Lincoln County Library
    63 Main Street
    Pioche, NV 89043
    Phone: 775-962-5244

Museums[edit | edit source]

Lincoln County Historical Museum
  • Lincoln County Historical Museum
    69 Main Street
    Pioche, NV 89043
    Phone: 775-962-5207
Million Dollar Courthouse
  • Million Dollar Courthouse
    25 Lacour Street
    Pioche, NV 89043
    Phone: 775-962-5182
Record highlights: The museum houses several early original record volumes including tax records, license books, school ledgers, deed indexes, and more. Of particular interest is the grantor/grantee index to Lincoln County Deeds, 1871-1873. These records, for whatever reason, are not included in the master deed index found at the Lincoln County Courthouse.
For a brief history of the "Million Dollar Courthouse," see the Lincoln County Courthouse entry found in the Online Nevada Encyclopedia.

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Lincoln County Historical Society
    PO Box 515
    Pioche, NV 89043
  • Nevada State Genealogical Society
    PO Box 20666
    Reno, NV 89515-0666
    Facebook
  • Clark County Nevada Genealogy Society
    PO Box 1929
    Las Vegas, NV 89125-1929
    Website
  • Nevada Historical Society
    1650 North Virginia Street
    Reno, NV 89503
    Phone: 775-688-1190
    Fax: 775-688-2917
    Website
  • Tri-State Genealogical Society
    For Arizona, California, Nevada
    PO Box 21902
    Bullhead City, AZ 86439
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Lincoln County, Nevada Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/nev/lincoln/ accessed 3/27/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County,_Nevada 3/27/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Oregon page 442, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Lincoln County, Nevada. Page 442. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 428.
  6. Sam P. Davis, editor, The History of Nevada, vol. 1 (Reno, Nevada: Elms Publishing Co., 1913), 212-13.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Lincoln County, Nevada," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lincoln_County%2C_Nevada accessed 16 March 2017.
  8. Williams 108-110
  9. U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
  10. William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. [http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/69672637/editions At various libraries (WorldCat)]; [https://www.familysearch.org/search/catalog/545087 FHL Book 973 X2th].
  11. Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
  12. N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /p. 292
  13. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56[1863]/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
  14. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  15. Howell Code, Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy., ch. 2/ pp. 24-25
  16. Arizona Territorial Laws 1865, 2d assy. pp. 19-20
  17. U.S. Stat., vol. 14, ch. 73[1866]/p. 43; Sacks, 25; Van Zandt, p. 158, 165
  18. Arizona Territorial Laws 1871, 6th assy. p. 87
  19. Utah Terr. Laws 1872, 20th session, ch. 19, sec. 2, p. 28
  20. Greer, 162
  21. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 211.
  22. ’'Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 437. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 422. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
  23. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 212.
  24. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at https://newsroom.churchofjesuschrist.org/article/pioneer-trek (accessed 18 July 2011).
  25. "Jefferson Hunt" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jefferson_Hunt (accessed 6 September 2011).
  26. Wikipedia contributors, "Union Pacific Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Union_Pacific_Railroad (accessed 14 September 2011).