Linton, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Linton, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Linton, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chilford
County Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Linton
Registration District Linton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Camps
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

LINTON (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Chilford, county of Cambridge, 10½ miles SE by E from Cambridge, and 48 N by E from London. There is a place of worship for Independents. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Linton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
FS PRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Linton Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1599-1865 1599-1865
1599-1865
FS PRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

Parish registers for Linton, 1559-1876 at FHL

Bishop's transcripts forLinton, Cambridgeshire, 1599-1865 t FHL

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends (Quaker)

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Linton on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 98-101.Date accessed and adapted: 08 July 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.