To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Livingston County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Livingston County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Chillicothe
Organized: January 6, 1837
Parent County(s): Carroll[1]
Neighboring Counties
Caldwell  • Carroll  • Chariton  • Daviess  • Grundy  • Linn
See County Maps
Courthouse
MissouriLivingstonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Missouri Livingston County Map.svg.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Edward Livingston. The County is located in the north central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Livingston County Courthouse
700 Webster Street
Chillicothe, MO 64601
Phone: 660-646-2293
Livingston County Website

County Clerk has birth and death records.
Recorder of Deeds has marriage and land records.
Probate Court has probate records.
Clerk of the Circuit Court has court records.[3]

Livingston County, Missouri Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1883 1837 1883 1837 1837 1837 1830
Statewide registration started in 1910 for births and deaths. General compliance for births by 1927 and deaths by 1911.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1837--Livingston County was created 6 January 1837 from Carroll County.
  • County seat: Chillicothe[5]

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places in Livingston County, MO, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator.
The State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical Missouri place names for all 114 Missouri Counties.
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships
Ghost towns


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Livingston County, Missouri online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190022,302
191019,453−12.8%
192018,857−3.1%
193018,615−1.3%
194018,000−3.3%
195016,532−8.2%
196015,771−4.6%
197015,368−2.6%
198015,7392.4%
199014,592−7.3%
200014,5880%
  • A good help on Analyzing U.S. Census Data Analyzing Census data
  • An article about the Federal and State Census Records that exist for Missouri. Missouri Census
  • No State Census Records exist for Livingston County, Missouri.
  • This article was written by G. David Dilts. It deals with finding elusive ancestors in the census. He gave this presentation at the Atlanta Family History expo in 2010. Finding Elusive Ancestors

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic
St. Columban, Chillicothe

  • 1857-1876 St. Columban, Chillicothe, Baptism Index 1857-1876. Batch C511551 at FamilySearch.[7]
  • 1857-1885 St. Columban, Chillicothe, Marriage Index 1857-1885. Batch M511551 at FamilySearch.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Lindley Funeral Home

  • 910 Washington St. Chillicothe, Missouri 64601, Phone: (660) 646-4857
  • 309 Main St. Hale, Missouri 64643, Phone: (660) 565-2315
  • 102 E Main St. Laredo, Missouri 64652, Phone: (660) 286-3415
  • 120 N Main St. Tina, Missouri 64682, Phone: (660) 622-4413

Heritage Funeral Home

  • 3141 North Washington St., Chillicothe, Missouri 64601, Phone: (660) 646-6600
  • 490 W. Main, Breckenridge, Missouri 64625, Phone: (660) 644-5997

Resthaven Mortuary and Cemetery

  • 310 North Highway 65, Trenton, Missouri 64683, Phone: (660) 359-5672

Roberson Funeral Home

  • 503 So. Broadway St., Jamesport, Missouri 64648, Phone: (660) 684-6999

Slater Funeral Home

  • 412 E 9th St, Trenton, Missouri, 64683, Phone: (660) 359-3954

Whitaker-Eads Funeral Home

  • 813 Custer St, Trenton, Missouri 64683, Phone: (660) 359-3932

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Livingston County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • History of Caldwell and Livingston Counties, Missouri. 1886. St. Louis : National Historical Co. Available online at FamilySearch
  • A History of Livingston County, Missouri. 1937. The history was published by The Livingston County Centennial Committee. Available online at Livingston County Library
  • One Hundred Years in Livingston County. 1976. [S.l.] : Livingston County Bicentennial Agriculture Committee (Missouri). Available online at FamilySearch
  • Livingston County History. This Livingston County Library site has County History, Community Histories, Biographies, and a few Genealogy links.
  • Past and Present of Livingston County, Missouri. 1913. Vol 2 is available online at Google Books. This book contains biographical sketches of Livingston County residents.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Grundy CountySullivan CountyLinn CountyChariton CountyCarroll CountyCaldwell CountyDaviess CountyMO LIVINGSTON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Livingston County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Livingston County, Missouri:

- 4th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 23rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 27th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 29th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
- 4th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 65th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 6th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company H
- 7th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company K
- 7th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company L
- 7th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company M

World War I[edit | edit source]

World War II[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Livingston County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Grand River Historical Society & Museum
    1401 Forest Drive
    Chillicothe, MO
    Phone: 660-646-1341
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
  • MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
  • Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Livingston, Missouri," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Livingston_County,_Missouri. accessed 9/12/2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Livingston County, Missouri. Page 397-407 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 393-397.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Livingston County, Missouri," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, Livingston County Missouri, accessed Oct 2019.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.