Llangan, Carmarthenshire, Wales Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

A guide to genealogy in Llangan, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Llangan is a village and ecclesiastical parish mainly in Carmarthenshire, but partly in Pembrokeshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed, Wales Genealogy. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

History[edit | edit source]

LLANGAN (LLAN-GAN), a parish, in the union of NARBERTH, chiefly in the lower division of the hundred of DERLLYS, county of CARMARTHEN, but partly in the hundred of DUNGLEDDY, county of PEMBROKE, SOUTH WALES, 16 miles (W.) from Carmarthen. On the banks of the Tâf, in this parish, anciently stood the famous Ty Gwyn ar Dâf, or "the White House on the Tâf," an occasional residence of Hywel Dda, sovereign of all Wales. The parish is pleasantly situated on the river Tâf, and intersected by the old Whitland road from Carmarthen to Haverfordwest; it comprehends a large tract of arable and pasture land, the whole of which, with a very small exception, is inclosed and in a good state of cultivation. The church, dedicated to St. Canna, is a neat modern edifice, rebuilt in the year 1820, and consisting of a nave and chancel. There are two Sunday schools, in which children are taught gratuitously by the Independents. [1]

For more information on Llangan see Llangan at Genuki.

Llanfan Parish
Jurisdictions
County bef 1974 add here
County 1 Apr 1974-31 Mar 1996 add here
County 1 Apr 1996 - add here
Civ Reg District Narberth (1881)
Reg Sub-district Amroth (1881)
Probate Court add here
Diocese add here
Rural Deanery add here
Chapelry add here
Poor Law Union Narberth
Hundred DERLLYS
Province add here
Hamlets add here


Administration[edit | edit source]

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Poor Law Union Records[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 14 January 2014.