Llangarron, Herefordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Llangarron, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Llangarron, Herefordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wormelow
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Ross
Registration District Ross
Records begin
Parish registers: 1569; Separate registers exist for St Weonards beginning 1624
Bishop's Transcripts: 1661; Separate records exist for St Weonards beginning 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Archenfield
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

LLANGARRAN (St. Deinst), a parish, in the union of Ross, Lower division of the hundred of Wormelow, county of Hereford, 5 miles (W. S. W.) from Ross; which contains the townships of Kilreague, Llangunnoc, and Langstone (with Tre-Evan, Trecilla, Tredoughan, and Tretilla). [1]

Llangarron is a village and civil parish in Herefordshire Llangarron Wikipedia

The village name is also found in certain records spelt as Llangarren and Llangarran.

Llangarron St Deinst was formed as an Ecclesiastical parish in 1849 from chapelry in Lugwardine, Herefordshire Ancient Parish.

Other places in the parish include: Trecilla, Tretilla, Tredoughan, St Weonards, Kilreague, Llangunnoc, Langstone with Tre-Evan, ( sometimes called Langstone and Tre-Evan. and Llangunoc sometimes spelled Llangunnock, and is the only church in England to be dedicated to the first Bishop of Bangor.

The Parish church of St Deinst has been designated asa grade I listed building British listed building

See also Herefordshire Past - St. Deinst Church

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Llangarron Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Herefordshire
1500s-2000s
-
1500s-2000s
-
1500s-2000s
-
Parish Registers - FamilySearch Catalog
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts-Herefordshire
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-Herefordshire ($)
1600s-1800s
-
1600s-1800s
-
1600s-1900s
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1600s-1800s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Llangarron 1841-1891 at FamilySearch - browse online images.

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK

Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Ross Poor Law Union,Herefordshire

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 119-121. Accessed and adapted 12 March, 2013

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.