Longton, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Longton, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Staffordshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Stoke on Trent|
|Registration District||Stoke upon Trent|
|Parish registers: 1764; Separate registers exist for Longton St James beginning 1834|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1764; Separate records exist for Longton St James beginning 1834|
|Rural Deanery||Stoke upon Trent|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
LONGTON, with Lane-End, a market-town and district parish, in the parish and union of Stoke-uponTrent, N. division of the hundred of Pirehill and of the county of Stafford, 4 miles (E. S. E.) from Newcastle-under-Lyme, 14 (N.) from Stafford, and 150(N. W. by N.) from London. There are places ofworship for Baptists, Independents, Calvinistic Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, Wesleyans,and other dissenters; also a Roman Catholic chapel.
Longton is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1802 from chapelry in Stoke upon Trent, Staffordshire Genealogy Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Longton St James.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Longton St John (Lane End) was originally a chapelry of Stoke St Peter
Longton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|LONGTON ST JOHN PARISH (1764) Online Records|
Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1764-1976 Mar 1866-1978 Bur 1764-1975
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop’s Transcripts Bap 1764-1868 Mar no holdings Bur 1764-1868 Missing 1854-1855 Bap and bur
Longton St James the Less was formed from from part of Longton St John EP From 1979 St James and St John
Longton St James parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|LONGTON ST JAMES PARISH Online Records|
Cemetery Records[edit | edit source]
FREG has transcribed the following Burial Registers1878-1896, 1964-1969
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Reference[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 172-175. Date accessed: 02 November 2012.
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
- 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
- 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 September 2014.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.