Los Angeles County, California Genealogy
Guide to Los Angeles County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Los Angeles County, California|
Location in the state of California
Location of California in the U.S.
|Founded||February 18, 1850|
|County Seat||Los Angeles|
|Address||Los Angeles County Courthouse|
12400 E Imperial Hwy
PO Box 1024
Norwalk, Ca 90650
Phone: 562.462.2137; Los Angeles Website
- 1 County Courthouse
- 2 Historical Facts
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Biography
- 4.2 Cemeteries
- 4.3 Census
- 4.4 Church Records
- 4.5 Court Records
- 4.6 Directories
- 4.7 Emigration and Immigration
- 4.8 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 4.9 Genealogy
- 4.10 History
- 4.11 Land and Property
- 4.12 Maps
- 4.13 Migration
- 4.14 Military History and Records
- 4.15 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 4.16 Newspapers
- 4.17 Obituaries
- 4.18 Probate Records
- 4.19 Repositories
- 4.20 Schools
- 4.21 Societies
- 4.22 Taxation
- 4.23 Vital Records
- 4.24 Voting Records
- 5 Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
The County Clerk has divorce records from 1880 and probate and court records
from 1850. The County Recorder has birth, marriage, death and land records
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
18 February 1850: Los Angeles County was created as one of 27 original counties in the new state of California. Prior to the creation of the county, the records were either at city or Franciscan mission places.
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for the City of Los Angeles. The County Seat is Los Angeles and was founded February 18, 1850. It is located in the southeastern area of the state.
Boundary Changes [edit | edit source]
The original County of Los Angeles covered a large part of Southern California including parts of what is now Kern County, San Bernardino County, Riverside County, and Orange County. These areas split off to form San Bernardino County in 1853, Kern County in 1866, and Orange County in 1889. In 1893 part of San Bernardino County that had originally been part of Los Angeles County became part of Riverside County.
For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Records Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
Los Angeles County contains 88 incorporated cities (2010) and many more named places. Los Angeles City also contains a large number of named areas many of which had their origins before they were annexed into Los Angeles.
Communities: Hacienda Heights, South Whittier, Topanga, Universal City, East Los Angeles, more...
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
Local histories and biographies of the Los Angeles area are numerous. The Calfornia GenWeb project has created name indexes for some of these books. To see those, click here.
Courtesy of the Long Beach Public Library, historic photos of Long Beach are available to see here. Long Beach Photos.
Ancestry.com ($) has an online searchable copy of Greater Los Angeles & Southern California : portraits & personal memoranda. Chicago: Lewis Pub. Co., 1910. The use of Ancestry is free at many libraries. Also available at some libraries (WorldCat).
Other Online Resources
- Index to Los Angeles County Biographies (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Los Angeles County Biographies (CAGenWeb Project)
- Index to Los Angeles County Biographies (USGenWeb Archives)
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web site may have additional information on Los Angeles County cemeteries.
- Interment.net California cemetery records by County.
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Los Angeles County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.
For information about Los Angeles city census records, see the Los Angeles wiki page.
- 1850, 1860, 1870 - Index to Los Angeles County Census Transcriptions (CAGenWeb Archives)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.
Baptist[edit | edit source]
- Records of the First Baptist Church in Glendale, California as of June 1. 1929 can be searched here. Courtesy of the church and of the Southern California Genealogical Society.
Lutheran[edit | edit source]
- Records of the American Lutheran Church, Los Angeles County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Court Records[edit | edit source]
For the years from 1854 to 1938, the Family History Library has a microfilm series of circuit court records for Los Angeles County and other areas. These include common rule books, equity, equity decree registers, Judgement registers, common law and other items. These may be available to be viewed at any family history center.
Directories[edit | edit source]
- Southwest Blue Book for 1923-1924 lists online the names and addresses and maiden names of society members, United Daughters of the Confederacy, Los Angeles Athletic Club members, and Pacific Fleet Officers as well as marriages of members in 1923: courtesy of CA Gen Web.
- Ancestry.com ($) has Los Angeles City Directories for 1888-1890.
- Fold3.com ($) has Los Angeles City Directories 1873, 1875, 1878-1924 (5 yrs. missing) available online. This database is sometimes free at libraries.
- Long Beach City Directories: 1899-1966: courtesy of the Long Beach Public Library
- The first Los Angeles city and county directory, 1872, reprint edition is available at various libraries (World Cat)
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
- 1947-1948 - California, Airplane Passenger Lists from Honolulu, Hawaii, 1947-1948 at FamilySearch — index and images
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Los Angeles County also has a significant Asian American history. 
For more information about religious and minority groups, see the wiki page for the city of Los Angeles.
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
The American History and Genealogy Project has a webpage with links to much helpful information; biographies of early Glendale and El Monte residents and more, histories, and newspapers, and photos of early Southern California. Find that here.
History[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Los Angeles County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.
- Los Angeles County History Records (CAGenWeb Archives)
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Los Angeles County, California Genealogy for emigrant settlers included:
- Camino Real de California 1770s linking Spanish Mission churches in California and Baja California
- Old Spanish Trail 1829 Los Angeles, California to Santa Fe, New Mexico
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California
- Mormon Trail to Southern California 1847 from Salt Lake City, Utah to Los Angeles, California
- Butterfield Overland Mail 1857-1861 from San Francisco via Los Angeles to Memphis, Tennessee and St. Louis, Missouri
- Central Overland Trail 1859-1869 from Salt Lake City, Utah to Carson City, Nevada (and usually on to northern California)
- Union Pacific Railroad 1869 Ogden, Utah to Omaha, Nebraska
- Central Pacific Railroad 1869 Ogden, Utah to Sacramento, California
- Atchison, Topeka, and Santa Fe Railway 1881 Los Angeles, California to Chicago, Illinois
- Southern Pacific Railroad 1883 Los Angeles, California to New Orleans, Louisiana
- Atlantic and Pacific Railroad 1885 Los Angeles, California to Albuquerque, New Mexico (and the Santa Fe Railway) 
- 1906-1935 - California, Pioneer Migration Index, Compiled 1906-1935 at FamilySearch — index
Military History and Records[edit | edit source]
- Los Angeles County Military Records (CAGenWeb Archives)
- Los Angeles County Military Records (CAGenWeb Project)
Historical Forts[edit | edit source]
- Fort Drum 1862-1871 (Wilmington) 
- Fort McArthur 1914-1974 (San Pedro) 
- Fort Tejon 1854-1864 (Tejon Pass near Grapevine) 
Mexican War[edit | edit source]
- Los Angeles County in the War With Mexico (Genealogy Trails)
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Service men in Los Angeles County, California Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Los Angeles County, California Genealogy:
- - 1st Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company B
- - 1st Battalion, California Native Cavalry (Union), Company C
- - 1st Battalion, California Native Cavalry (Union), Company D
- Los Angeles County List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
Spanish American War[edit | edit source]
- Los Angeles County Spanish American War Pensions (Genealogy Trails)
World War I[edit | edit source]
Second to None has a short review of the WW I activities of this division of Marines, and detailed history of the Second Division Association of Los Angeles, and a some brief biographies of its members.
- Jackson, S. Melvin. 1933. Second to none. Los Angeles [California]: Sam Babcock, Sixth Marines. At various libraries (WorldCat).
World War II[edit | edit source]
- Surname Index to Los Angeles County World War II Army Enlistees (CAGenWeb Archives)
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
The Los Angeles County Archives has records of Los Angeles County for the years 1856 to 1886:
Los Angeles County Archives
225 North Broadway
Los Angeles, California 90012
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- The Los Angeles Public Library has made available on its website an index to newspaper and periodical articles containing obituary information on renowned actors, authors, journalists, and librarians. You can search the database by name, occupation, date of death, and cause of death. The data fields in the results returned may include full name, including married name, maiden name, and nickname; sex, occupation, death date, age, place of death, and information source.
- Arcadia Bulletin - full-text digital issues in Google News Archive; covers 1940
- Arcadia Daily Tribune - Google News Archive; 1930-1936
- Arcadia Journal - Google News Archive; 1917-1931
- Arcadia Tribune - Google News Archive; 1923-1936
- Torrance Public Library: Historical Newspaper Archives (1913-1969)
- Torrance Public Library: Historic City and Phone Directories (1922-1975)
Courtesy of the Whittier Public Library:
- Whittier Daily News, Whittier Register, Whittier News: 1888-2007
- Historical Photograph Collection: Images of the establishment of Whittier-late 1800s to mid-20th century
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Los Angeles County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
The Southern California Genealogical Society has created The Los Angeles Times Obituary Index database searchable by either first name, last name or a combination of the two. If the name is found, the index provides the year of the obituary. If a copy of the obituary is desired, then it is necessary to purchase it from the Society. Currently the Index covers the period 1988 to 2004.
Rose Hills Memorial Park has a searchable database with some online obituaries. Burials:1914-present, Some Obituaries: 2011- present
- Index to Los Angeles County Obituary Collection (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Los Angeles County Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Los Angeles - Probate records.
- 1850 - 1900 Original records of cases filed in the Los Angeles County Court and District Court for Probate case files from 1850 through 1900 and for Civil case files from 1850 through June 1910 are stored at the Huntington Library Huntington Library in San Marino, California.
Site to search index of probate and court records at Huntington Library
Online Probate Records
- 1782 – 1999 California Wills and Probate Records 1782-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1833 – 1991 California Probate Estate Files 1833-1991 at FamilySearch — images
Repositories[edit | edit source]
Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
Antelope Valley Genealogical Society
557 West Lancaster Blvd.
Lancaster, CA 93534
Hours: Every Friday 11 am-4pm; Second and Fourth Saturday of every month
Los Angeles FamilySearch Library
10741 Santa Monica Blvd
West Los Angeles, CA 90025
Hours: T-W-Th 9 am-9 pm; Mon-Fri-Sat 9 am-5 pm; Closed Sun
Southern California Genealogical Society and Family Research Library
417 Irving Dr.
Burbank, CA ~ 91504 818-843-7247
Sons of the Revolution Library
600 South Central Avenue
Glendale, California 91204-2009 Telephone: (818) 240-1775
Library and Museum Hours: Wednesdays Noon to 6:00 p.m. Thursday thru Saturday 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Closed Sunday through Tuesday, Saturdays before a Monday holiday, Wednesday before Thanksgiving, and the entire month of December.
County of Los Angeles Public Libraries is a system of local libraries with some microfilmed newspapers and city directories and biographies. They will search for obituaries (Click the link above for their search policy.) This system has four ethnic centers: The Black Resource Center, the Asian Pacific Resource Center, the Chicano Resource Center, and the American Indian Resource Center.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration
500 W. Temple St.
Los Angeles, CA 90012 (county seat)
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
- Agua Dulce California Family History Center
- Burbank California Family History Center
- Canoga Park California Family History Center
- Cerritos California Family History Center
- Covina California Family History Center
- Glendale California Family History Center
- Glendora California Family History Center
- Granada Hills California Family History Center (Northridge)
- Hacienda Heights California Family History Center
- Huntington Park California West Family History Center (Los Angeles)
- La Crescenta California Family History Center
- Lake Los Angeles California Family History Center (Lancaster)
- Lancaster California East Family History Center
- Lancaster California Family History Center
- Long Beach California East Family History Center (Los Alamitos)
- Long Beach California Family History Center
- Los Angeles California East Family History Center (Monterey Park)
- Los Angeles California Large Multi-stake Family History Library
- Los Angeles FamilySearch Library
- Palmdale California Family History Center
- Palos Verdes California Family History Center (Rancho Palos Verdes)
- Pasadena California Family History Center
- San Fernando California Family History Center (Van Nuys)
- Sylmar California Family History Center
- Torrance California Family History Center
- Valencia California Family History Center
- Whittier California Family History Center
Schools[edit | edit source]
Long Beach High School Yearbooks: 1900s-1950s: courtesy of the Long Beach Public Library
Societies[edit | edit source]
- 417 Irving Dr.
- Burbank, CA 91504
- P.O. Box 4367
- Whittier, California 90607-4367
- Meetings at Masonic Lodge
- 7604 Greenleaf Ave.
- Whittier, CA
- 1310-B West Magnolia Boulevard
- Burbank, California
- P. O. Box 7369
- Burbank, California 91510-7369
- Telephone: 818.848.3122
- Meetings: 2nd Saturday Jan Mar May Jul Sep Nov at 3 pm
- Los Angeles Family History Library
- P.O. Box 307
- Buena Park, CA 90621-0307
- Meetings: Los Angeles Family History Library
- 10471 Santa Monica Boulevard
- Los Angeles, CA
- Telephone: 310.474.9990
Taxation[edit | edit source]
California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records
Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk
(for Birth, Marriage and Death records going back at least to 1852) Norwalk RR/CC Building
12400 Imperial Highway
Norwalk, CA. 90650
Office Hours: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm Monday through Friday (open 8 a.m. - 7 p.m. on the 3rd Thursday of every month)
- Note: There are several other sites to get birth, marriage and death records in Los Angeles County but Norwalk is the only facility that you can view records personally.
Viewing Vital Records: The following will provide you with the procedure for viewing vital records. Certificates and indexes of birth, death and marriage records not exempt from public inspections may be examined at the Office of the Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. , Monday through Friday, except holidays. In addition to certificates on file, there are indexes of birth, death and marriages available for public inspection as follows: Births prior to 1905 and from 1964 to the present; Deaths from 1877 to the present; and Marriages from 1852 to the present. Records of confidential marriages performed pursuant to Family Code Section 500 are not available for public review. Certificates and indexes may be examined at no charge unless a deputy is requested search and/or retrieve more than five records. Random searches of the indexes or the certificates are not allowed. An application is required for each record searched. Information sufficient to identify the requested record must be provided.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1800 - 1994 - California, County Birth and Death Records, 1800-1994 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1812 - 1988 - California Births and Christenings, 1812-1988 at FamilySearch — index
- 1905 - 1995 - California Birth Index, 1905-1995 at FamilySearch — index
- 1905 - Los Angeles County Birth Index (Genealogy Trails)
- Los Angeles County Births (USGenWeb Archives)
- Los Angeles County Birth Notices (Genealogy Trails)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
For early marriages see the Matrimonial Investigation Records of the San Gabriel Mission, which span 1788–1861. These are notarized interviews with couples wanting to marry in the Roman Catholic Church, performed to establish the couples’ freedom to marry. The collection includes 165 investigations, with 173 men and 170 women, primarily from the Mission San Gabriel Arcángel. William McPherson donated the original documents to the Claremont Colleges. Click here to see those images.
- 1800 - 2007 - California, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1850 - 1945 - California Marriages, 1850-1945 at FamilySearch — index
- 1850 - 1952 - California, County Marriages, 1850-1952 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1854 - 1885 - Western States Marriage Index
- 1859 - 1974 - Los Angeles County Marriage Notices (Genealogy Trails)
- 1931 - Los Angeles County Marriage Index (Genealogy Trails)
- 1960 - 1985 - California Marriage Index, 1960-1985 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Los Angeles County Marriage Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
Los Angeles County Death Records at the Family History Library:
Los Angeles County Death Records are available through the Family History Library System. First, search the index film for the year the person died. Note that in 1958-1960, there are separate film sets for different cities in Los Angeles County, including Los Angeles, Pasadena, and Long Beach.
Note that entries in the county wide index with certificate numbers preceded by an "L" pertain to the Long Beach set of death certificates.
The California Death Records 1940-1997 can be searched for free on Rootsweb. California Death Records
- 1800 - 1994 - California, County Birth and Death Records, 1800-1994 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1905 - 1939 - California Death Index, 1905-1939 at FamilySearch — index
- 1940 - 1997 - California Death Index, 1940-1997 at FamilySearch — index
- Los Angeles County Deaths (USGenWeb Archives)
Voting Records[edit | edit source]
California county clerks were to keep voting registers every other year from 1866 and well into the 20th century. These large books, called Great Registers, listed the men who registered to vote in that county. Besides name and age, the record may show place of birth, address, occupation, naturalization date and sometimes even a physical description.
These records are at the California State Library (1866-1944), and microfilmed copies are available through Family History Centers (1866-1910). Ancestry ($) has a searchable database of Los Angeles Great Registers from 1873-1896.
Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Los Angeles City Historical Society
P.O. Box 41046
Los Angeles 90041
Los Angeles Westside Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 10447
Marina Del Rey 90295
Genealogical Society Family Research Library
417 Irving Drive Burbank
Azusa Historical Society
213 E. Foothill Blvd.
Azusa, CA 91702
British Isles Family History Society
2531 Sawtelle Blvd., PMB 134
Los Angeles, CA 90064-3124
California African American Genealogical Society
PO Box 8442
Covina California Chapter, DAR
2441 S N. Cameron Avenue
Covina, CA 91724
Covina Valley Historical Society
125 E. College Street
Covina, CA 91723
Downey Historical Society
PO Box 554
Downey CA 90241
Duarte Historical Society
PO Box 263
Duarte, CA 91010
Eagle Rock Valley Historical Society
2035 Colorado Blvd
Eagle Rock, CA 90041
El Monte Historical Society
3150 North Tyler Avenue
El Monte, CA 91731
Encino Historical Society
Encino, CA 91436
Genealogical Society of Hispanic America Southern California
P.O. BOX 2472
Santa Fe Springs,CA 90670
German Genealogical Society of America
2125 Wright Avenue, C-9
La Verne, CA 91750
Glendora Genealogical Group
PO Box 1141
Glendora, CA 91740
Glendora Historical Society
PO Box 532
Glendora, CA 91740
Historical Society of La Verne
PO Box 7761
La Verne, CA 91750
Historical Society of Long Beach
428 Pine Avenue
Long Beach, CA 90801
Immigrant Genealogical Society
PO Box 7369
Burbank, CA 91510-7369
Jewish Genealogical Society of LA
PO Box 55443
Sherman Oaks, CA 91413-0443
La Puente Valley Historical Society
PO Box 522
La Puente, CA 91744
Las Virgines Historical Society
PO Box 124
Agoura Hills, CA 91301
Little Landers Historical Society
10110 Commerce Avenue
Tujunga, CA 91042
Los Angeles Westside Genealogical Society
PO Box 10447
Marina del Rey, CA 90295
Pacific Palisades Historical Society
PO Box 1299
Los Angeles, CA 90272
Pasadena Genealogy Society
PO Box 94774
Pasadena Historical Society
470 West Walnut Street
Pasadena, CA 91103
Pomona Valley Genealogical Society
PO Box 286
Pomona, CA 91768-0286
Pomona Valley Historical Society
1569 North Park
Pomona, CA 91768
Questing Heirs Genealogical Society
PO Box 15102
Long Beach, CA 90813
Redondo Beach Historical Society
PO Box 978
Redondo Beach, CA 90277
San Fernando Valley Genealogical Society
PO Box 3486
Winnetka, CA 91396-3486
TRW Genealogical Society
One Space Park, S-1435
Redondo Beach, CA 90278
Whittier Area Genealogical Society
PO Box 4367
Whittier, CA 90607
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Los Angeles County, CA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- California Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- California Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Los Angeles County CAGenWeb
- USGenWeb Archives
- Los Angeles County Genealogy (California Genealogy)
- Online Los Angeles Death Records and Indexes
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Los Angeles County, California Genealogy Trails
- Los Angeles County CA Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Los Angeles County, California. Page 84-88 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 81-83.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Los Angeles County, California. Page 85 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Los Angeles County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Los_Angeles_County,_California 5/03/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Los Angeles County, California" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Los_Angeles_County,_California (accessed 15 February 2013).
- Free Databases at Southern California Genealogical Society (accessed 27 June 2014).
- California History (accessed 25 July 2014)
- Germans in California at German American Pioneers (accessed 25 July 2014)
- Italians in Los Angeles at Southern California Historical Society (accessed 25 July 2014)
- LA County is the Capital of Asian America at Social Focus on KCET (accessed 25 July 2014)
- Wikipedia contributors, "El Camino Real (California)" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/El_Camino_Real_%28California%29 (accessed 14 September 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Old Spanish Trail (trade route)" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Old_Spanish_Trail_%28trade_route%29 (accessed 14 September 2011).
- "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Jefferson Hunt" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jefferson_Hunt (accessed 6 September 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Butterfield Overland Mail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Butterfield_Overland_Mail (accessed 14 September 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Central Overland Route" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Overland_Route (accessed 13 September 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Union Pacific Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Union_Pacific_Railroad (accessed 14 September 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Central Pacific Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Pacific_Railroad (accessed 14 September 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Santa Fe Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Santa_Fe_Railroad (accessed 14 September 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Southern Pacific Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Southern_Pacific_Railroad (accessed 14 September 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Atlantic and Pacific Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atlantic_and_Pacific_Railroad (accessed 14 September 2011).
- The California State Military Museum
- Fort McArthur Museum
- Fort Tejon Historical Association