Lower Beeding, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Lower Beeding, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Lower Beeding, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Horsham|
|Parish registers: 1839|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1839|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BEEDING (Lower), a parochial chapelry in Horsham district, Sussex; in St. Leonard's forest, on the Mid Sussex railway, near Faygate station, 5 miles ENE of Horsham. There are a chapel of ease and a national school.
Lower Beeding Holy Trinity is an Ecclesiastical Parish created from a former chapelry in Upper Beeding, Sussex Ancient Parish.
Church history Lower Beeding Holy Trinity
The church of Holy Trinity has been designated as a grade II British listed building
See also Lower Beeding Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Horsham registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralized Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Lower Beeding, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Lower Beeding, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Beeding, Lower
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.