Lower Sapey, Worcestershire Genealogy
Guide to Lower Sapey, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Lower Sapey, Worcestershire|
|Poor Law Union||Bromyard|
|Parish registers: 1674|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1614|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Worcestershire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Lower Sapey; is also known as SAPEY-PRITCHARD (St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union of Bromyard, Upper division of the hundred of Doddingtree, Hundred-House and W. divisions of the county of Worcester, 11 miles (W. N. W.) from Worcester.
Sapey, Lower The parish is known in some records as Sapey Pritchard see 1868 National Gazetteer.
Lower Sapey, is an Ancient parish in the county of Worcestershire and part of the parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbours Upper Sapey, Herefordshire Wolferlow, Herefordshire Tedstone Wafer, Herefordshire and Tedstone Delamere, Herefordshire
The disused Old church of St Bartholomew, Hope Lane, Lower Sapey has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building and is now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust. Old St Bartholomew's Church Lower sapey Wikpedia Churches Conservation Trust
The church of St Bartholomew Lower Sapey dates from 1876-1877 and was designed by Frederick R Kempson of Hereford and has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
See parish website
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Lower Sapey parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Lower Sapey Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the The Hive (where the Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service is located).
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 12 October 2013.
- National Gazetteer, transcription by Colin Hinson Lower Sapey is a village and civil parish in the Malvern Hills district of Worcestershire.&lt;ref&gt; Wikipedia, Lower Sapey Wikipedia. Date accessed and adapted: 12 October 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Worcestershire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.