Loxley, Warwickshire Genealogy
|Poor Law Union||Stratford on Avon|
|Registration District||Stratford on Avon|
|Parish registers: 1540|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1612|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Warwickshire County Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Loxley, is a village and a parish in Stratford-on-Avon district, Warwickshire. The village stands on the S border of Warwickshire, it is 4 miles ESE of Stratford-on-Avon railway station; it has a post office under Warwick. The parish contains also the hamlets of Chadley, Famington, Oakham, Oldborough, and Hunscote. There is a Baptist chapel.
Loxley St Nicholas
The history of this church dates back to the 8th century when the site was given to the church by Offa, King of Mercia. Some of the original Saxon stonework remains in the north wall, however the present church was consecrated in 1286. Most of the church, apart from the tower was rebuilt in the 18th century; the tower alone remaining unaltered.
There is a small vestry with unusual stonework, reusing gravestones from the churchyard.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Loxley, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|LOXLEY PARISH Online Records|
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
http://www.westgallerychurches.com/Warks/Loxley/Loxley.html for information about the church