Lungsund Parish, Värmland, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Lungsund Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Lundsbergs Church
Lungsund Church

History[edit | edit source]

The area of Lungsund parish was setteled due to the rise of iron and steel works in eastern Värmland county in the 1600's. By the 1640's the population had increased so much that it was neccessary to create a new parish and build a parish church. The parish of Lungsund was created from Kroppa parish in 1643. With the abundence of forest, it was decided to build the Lungsund church building of wood. The original structure was in a long rectangular shape. As the population increased, the church became too small, so two additional wings were added between 1722 and 1733. The organ facade which dates back to 1660 came from Kristinehamns church in 1859. The pulpit was donated to the church in 1685 by Johan and Linroth from Bjurbäcken. Lungsund parish was dissolved when it was combined with Storfors parish on 1 January 2010.


Location on Google Maps

Lungsund Parish, Värmland, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Karlstad
Pastorat 1643-1936 Kroppa, 1937-1961 Lungsund, 1962- Lungsund and Bjurtjärn
Län pre 1779 Närke and Värmland, after 1779 Värmland
Landskap Värmland
Härad Färnebo
Tingslag pre 1947 Färnebo, 1948-1970 Östersysslet
Domsaga Östersysslet, after 1971 Kristinehamn
Fögderi Filipstad, 1682-1966 Östersysslet
Kommun - 1951 Lungsund landskommun, 1952 - 1966 Ullvättern, 1967 - Storfors
Militär indelning Extra Soldat-Roteringen
NAD Ref Code SE/VA/13342
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Ackkärr, Ackkärr Hammaren, Arvidstorp, Asphyttan

Blåkällhult, Bengtstorp, Bergmyren, Bergängen, Bjurbäcks Hytta, Bjurön, Björkmo, Björkåsen, Björnbotten, Björnfallet, Blomsterhult, Blåkällhult Asphyttan, Brattbäcken, Brunsbol, Bäckelid

Drågen

Framnäs, Fräkneviken, Frälsehemman

Galteskär, Grytingsbron, Grytingssundet, Gäddekärn

Halla, Hallåsen, Hytteskogen, Högåsen, Höjden

Kallkällhult, Kvarnbron, Kvarned, Kvarnedskvarn, Kvarnsfallet, Kulleråsen, Källmotorp, Kärn, Kärntorp

Ladubäcken, Lermarken, Lervik, Lilla Stolpen, Lillebäcksed, Lillebäckstorp, Lindås, Lungsnäset, Lungstorp, Lungälven, Lungälvstorp, Länås, Lövnäset

Matlången, Matlångsedet, Matlången Hammaren, Melltorp, Meudden, Mossen, Mosserud, Mosstorp, Mossviken, Murbo, Myggebo

Nolhult, Norra Kärret, Norra Lungstorp, Norra Skälstabacken, Nybygget, Näverviken, Nävervikstorp

Olstorp

Pickartorpet, Prästudden

Råglanda, Rögsland

Sandviken, Sjötorp, Slädbråten, Sonlyckan, Stolpen, Stora Älgsjön, Storhult, Storängen, Sundstad, Sundstorp, Säldedrågen, Sävsjödammen, Sävsjön, Södra Friskärn, Södra Skälstabacken

Trehörningen, Trälhem, Tvärbäcken, Tälgbron

Viggetorp, Vägen, Vännemyren, Värremynt, Västanbäck, Västra Ackkärrstorp, Västra Snårbotten

Ålviken, Ålviksudden, Åsen

Ämterud, Ämtnäset, Ängetorp, Äspviken

Östra Ackkärrstorp, Östra Snårbotten

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Bjurtjärn, Brattfors, Färnebo, Kristinahamn, Kroppa, Ullvätten (see Bjurtjärn), Väse, Ölme

Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Värmland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Värmland and then select your parish.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records'[edit | edit source]

Lungsund parish belonged to the Färnebo Tingslag up until 1947. Search the Färnebo häradsrätt collections for court cases, recording of land purchase, court death lists, probates, and other record types associated to the court.

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

  • Lungsunds Hembygdsförening http://www.lungsundshembygd.se/
  • Register till Lungsund vigsellängder 1687-1860 is an index and extraction of marriages 1687-1860 from Lungsund parish by the Föreningen för Datorhjälp i Släktforskningen, DIS. The index is in book form and part of the series "Register till kyrkböcker från Värmland".
  • KarlbergThe Karlbergs of Kroppa, by Nancy Ellen Carlberg. Some ancestors lived in Lungsund.
  • Gamla Lundsbergare 1896-1963 compiled by the Gamla Lundsbergare Society gives brief biographies of former teachers and students at Lundsberg school in Lungsund parish.  The biograpies are for the time period 1896-1963 and are arranged in alphabetical order.  The students are from all over Sweden.
  • Lundsbeg Skola år 1912, printed in Göteborg by Wald. Zachrisson Boktryckeri in 1912 gives the history of Lundsberg private school in Lungsund and includes portraits of the teachers.

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Föreningen Gamla Lundsbergare
Lundsberg,
688 91 Storfors
Sweden
Lungsunds Hembygdsförening
The society has published various articles in regards to local history, schools, emigration and some genealogical information on the owners of Berget in Lungsund parish.

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies




References:[edit | edit source]

Lungsund Husförhörslängd 1836-1840 Ortregister

Riksarkivet. "Lungsunds församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). March 2010 <http://www.nad.ra.se/>

Skatteverket. "Lungsund." Förteckning (Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna). April 2010 Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna

Harlén, Hans and Kommentus Förlag. Sverige från A till Ö: Geografisk -historisk uppslagsbok. Daleke Grafiska AB, Malmö 2003

Swedish Wikipedia Community. Lungsunds kyrka. Wikipedia January 2012