Luxembourg Church Records

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Luxembourg Wiki Topics
Flag of Luxembourg.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Luxembourg Background
Local Research Resources

For information about records for non-Christian religions in Luxembourg, go to the Religious Records page.


Church Records (registres paroissiaux) and Transcripts[edit | edit source]

What Can These Records Tell Me?[edit | edit source]

Baptismal Records[edit | edit source]

  • Date and place of baptism
  • Birth date of child
  • Name and gender of child
  • Legitimacy of child
  • Names of parents
  • Names of grandparents
  • Names of godparents

Marriage Records[edit | edit source]

  • Date and place of marriage
  • Names of the bride and groom
  • Previous marital status (this could be “previously unmarried” or be “widow” or “widower.”
  • Their residences and ages
  • Names of groom's parents
  • Names of bride's parents
  • Names of the witnesses and their relationship to the bride and groom

Burial Records[edit | edit source]

  • Date and place of burial
  • Date and place of death
  • Name of deceased
  • Age of deceased
  • Names of their parents (if unmarried) or name of the spouse
  • Names of witnesses and with their relationship to the deceased

Accessing Records[edit | edit source]

Online[edit | edit source]



Writing for Records[edit | edit source]

Luxembourgers are traditionally Catholic. To find parishes in your ancestor's home community, use the archdiocesan parish finder: Ou est ma paroisse?

Quirks[edit | edit source]

Some parish registers in Luxembourg go back to the early 1600s, but most do not start until 1779. A number of registers have been destroyed or lost; other registers are in the hands of individuals and church officials who guard them jealously.

In 1797 when the official état civil (civil registration) was introduced, a French order required that the priests turn their parish registers over to the communities (civil jurisdiction). But the clergy, mistreated by the French regime, obeyed this order only partially. Thus beginning with that date part of the registers were deposited with the local civil government (communes) and part of them remained in the hands of the clergy.[1]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Family History Department of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “Family History Record Profile: Luxembourg,” Word document, private files of the FamilySearch Content Strategy Team, 1988-1997.