Lydbury North, Shropshire Genealogy
Guide to Lydbury North, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Lydbury North, Shropshire|
|County||Shropshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Clun|
|Parish registers: 1563|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Shropshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
LYDBURY, NORTH (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Clun, hundred of Purslow, S. division of Shropshire, 3 miles (S. E.) from Bishop's-Castle.
At the time of the Domesday Book in 1086, the priest was William the Clerk. The current stone church, dedicated to St Michael and All Angels, was built in the 12th and 13th centuries, and about 1580, the Bishop exchanged the parish with Elizabeth I for other properties.
Henry III granted a Charter to the town of Lydbury North providing for a weekly Market every Friday and an annual Fair 28-30th August.
In 1662, John Shipman bequeathed £200 towards the support of a free school. This parochial school for boys and girls was supported by an annual endowment of £16 plus voluntary contributions. It was based in the school room above the Walcot Chapel in the church until the present school was built in 1843.
The Countess of Powis established a free library for the benefit of those residing in the parish. The parish had annual charities worth £58 in 1863.
Walcot Park was built by Lord Clive of India and still contains extensive collections of Indian curiosities. It is a brick building set in extensive grounds and was the occasional residence of the Earl of Powis.
Plowden Hall is the seat of the Roman Catholic Plowden family. It is an ancient wooden building containing a fine collection of family portraits. A Roman Catholic chapel with residence for the priest and a school was erected in 1868.
Totterton Hall is a modern brick building which was the seat of the Bright family, vicars to Lydbury North in the 19th century.
About a mile and a half from the town of Lydbury North is Bury Ditches, the well preserved remains of an Iron Age hill fort, now under the control of English Heritage.
The rivers Onny and Kemp run through the parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
The parish of Lydbury North formed part of the Clun Registrar's District.
Civil Records[edit | edit source]
Births, marriages and deaths in Lydbury North are recorded in the GRO indexes as:
|1 Jul 1837 - 1974||Lydbury||Clun||XXVIII (1837-1851)|
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Lydbury North parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Shropshire Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|GEO = George Genealogy - free|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)|
|LYDBURY NORTH PARISH (1568) Online Records|
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Lydbury North Church website
- Census Returns (1841-1901)
- Monumental Inscriptions (1667-1949)
- 1851 Samuel Bagshaw's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Shropshire
- 1868 Slater's Royal National Commercial Directory and Topography of the Counties of Gloucester, Hereford, Monmouth, Shropshire and North and South Wales, and of the City of Chester
- 1871 Edward Cassey's History, Gazetteer and Directory of Shropshire
- 1880 Slater's Royal National Commercial Directory of North and South Wales, Monmouthshire, Shropshire and the Cities of Bristol and Chester
- 1891 Kelly's Directory of Shropshire
- 1895 Kelly's Directory of Herefordshire and Shropshire
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 194-198. Date accessed: 30 June 2012.
- 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- 'Shropshire Banns 1760-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 24 April 2014.
- 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.