To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Lydden, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Lydden, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Lydden, Kent
Lydden St Mary Kent.jpg
Lydden St Mary Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bewsborough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dover
Registration District Dover
Records begin
Parish registers: 1540
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dover
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

LYDDEN (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Dover, hundred of Bewsborough, lathe of St. Augustine, E division of the county of Kent, 5 miles NW from Dover.[1]

Lydden is a village and civil parish in the Dover district of Kent, see Lydden Wikipedia. Nearby at Wootton is Lydden Race Circuit which was birthplace of the sport of Rallycross.

Lydden St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury and forms part of the Temple Ewell with Lydden benefice.

The church of St Mary, Church Lane, Lydden has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 127-132 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Dover Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Lydden parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = findmypast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
Lydden Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1540-1911 1540-1911 1540-1836; 1754-1908 (Banns) 1540-1836; 1754-1908 (Banns) 1540-1812 1540-1812
FREG 1813-1907
1813-1837
1813-1907

Land Tax[edit | edit source]

Images for Lydden are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1832 The images are derived from 1987 microfilming of Kent Archives reference Q/RPL/230

A further set of images for Lydden and Swingfield are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1830 The images are derived from 1987 microfilming of Kent Archives reference Q/RPL/377 which contains only Swingfield parish returns. There appears to be an error in the way point.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 194-198. Date accessed: 26 August 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  6. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.