Linch, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Linch, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Midhurst|
|Parish registers: 1701|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1704|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
LYNCH, a hamlet, in the parish of Selworthy, union of Williton, hundred of Carhampton, W. division of Somerset.
The Parish church of St Luke, Linch Road, Linch West Sussex is in the hamlet of Woodmansgreen and is an Ancient parish in the Chichester district of West Sussex and includes the cluster of hamlets called Linch Farm, Linch Hill and Woodmansgreen.
The history of St Luke and the site occupied by a church building since the twelfth century is available Linch St Luke
The church of St Luke has been designateda a grade II listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 the history of civil registration can be found at Midhurst registration district Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Linch, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|LINCH PARISH Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 198-203. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
- 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.