Målselv Parish, Troms, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Målselv, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Målselv Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Nordlandene
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1789: Nordlandene, 1789-1866: Finmmarken, 1866-1919: Tromsø
Fylke 1919-Present Troms
Region add here
Prestegjeld Maalselven
Kommune add her
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Maalselven (Bardu til Salangen tinglad)
Fogderi Senja og Tromsø
Sorenskriveri Malangen
Skipreide add here



Church Records[edit | edit source]

Målselv clerical district contains parish registers for the parishes Målselv, Bardu and Øverbygd. Målselv parish was separated from Lenvik clerical district and Bardu parish from Ibestad clerical district in 1853. For earlier records see the above mentioned clerical districts.

Parish heading list shows the Norwegian headings on the parish records with an English translations for each of the different forms used throughout the records beginning in 1814. Prior to that time the records were kept in a journal format which varies with each parish.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.


Census Records[edit | edit source]

Målselv clerical district contains census records for Målselv, Bardu and Øverbygd. Målselv was separated from Lenvik clerical district and Bardu parish from Ibestad clerical district in 1853. For earlier records see the above mentioned clerical districts.


  • Folketælling 31 December 1865 - The 1865 index to Målselv is available on microfiche at the Family History Library..


  • Folketellinga 1875 for Målselv (Troms). The 1875 index to Målselv is available on microfiche at the Family History Library.



  • Folketellinga 1900 for Målselv (Troms). The 1900 census index to Målselv is available on microfiche at the Family History Library.



Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1690-1866 Tromsø judicial district.

1776-1809 Troms County judicial district.

1697-1824 Troms and Senja deanery.

Farm Book[edit | edit source]

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

5 Akka, 36 Alapmoen, 7 Aspmoen,

32 Baatkjosmoen, 32 Bakkehaug, 1 Bakkeringen, 51 Bardofossmoen, 40 Bjørkaasen, 20 Bjørklien, 29 Bjørndal, 38 Bjørnstad, 71 Blomli, 25 Brandmodalen, 27 Brandskognes, 16 Broderstad,

47 Elverum, 37 Elvevold, 50 Elvskiftnes, 36 Evenmoen, 42 Evenstad,

54 Fagerli, 54 Fagerlidalen, 6 Finbakken, 52 Finsund, 3 Flatnes, 56 Fleskmo nedre, 55 Fleskmo øvre, 5 Forberg, 16 Fossbakken, 28 Fosshaugen, 29 Fossnes og Fosslien, 24 Fredriksberg, 73 Fugllien, 70 Fuglmoen vestre,

32 Gaustad, 32 Gravraak, 47 Grimsbo, 3 Grundnes, 31 Grønlien, 5 Guldhav,

28 Hauglien, 64 Hillestad, 2 Hollændernes, 21 Holmesletten, 3 Høili,

43 Iselvmoen,

32 Jensberg, 41 Jensvold,

22 Kaldbækken, 66 Karlstad, 39 Kirkesdalen, 40 Kirkesjorden, 45 Kirkesmoen, 15 Kjeldmoen, 49 Kjervelvnes eller Grøtte, 67 Kjærredalen, 76 Kjærresnes nedre, 63 Kvanlien,

59 Lamoen, 7 Leirbækmoen, 40 Lillejorden, 4 Lunneborg, 46 Løberg, 33 Løvhaugen,

1 Maalsnes, 31 Maukdal, 23 Moen, 10 Moen mellem, 11 Moen nedre, 9 Moen øvre, 30 Myre, 1 Myreng, 49 Myrvang, 29 Myrvold, 48 Møkleby, 65 Møllerhaug,

30 Neby, 14 Nilasheim 33 Nordmoen. 34 Nymoen.

17 Olsborg.

67 Pusholm. 68 Pusserabben.

35 Renmælmoen. 5 Rognlien. 25 Rognmoen nordre. 36 Rolsjord. 60 Rosvold nedre. 59 Rosvold øvre. 67 Rundmoen. 53 Rusten. 44 Rydningen. 72 Rydningen.

58 Sandbakken. 39 Sandeggen. 6 Sandmoen. 7 Seljehaugen. 13 Skardalen 8 Skavaasen, 19 Solli eller Bjørklien, 18 Sollien, 74 Sommerbakken, 16 Storbakken, 12 Storjorden, 62 Storlien, 59 Sæteren,

57 Takholmbugten,

30 Utby, 54 Utrapet,

40 Vangen

Målselv Bygdehistorie Volume II

Akka, Alapmoen, Alapmoskogen, Alapnes, Alfheim, Aspely, Asphaug, Asplund, Aspmoen, Aune, Aurstad, Bakke, Bakkehaug, Bakkelund, Bakken, Bakkland, Bankplassen, Barås, Bekkevoll, Berg, Bergheim, Bergli, Bergmark, Bergmo, Bergrud, Bergset, Bergstad, Bergum, Birkeland, Birkelund, Bjerkaker, Bjerkenes, Bjorelvmoen, Bjørkebu, Bjørkholmen, Bjørkli, Bjørkliholmen, Bjørkmo, Bjørkås, Bjørndal, Bjørnlid, Bjørnstad, Bjørnstadseter, Borgly, Brannmodalen, Brannmoen, Brannskognes, Brannskogsand, Brattvoll, Brorstad,  Brorstadseter, Brostad, Brumo, Brunes, Bruvoll, Bråten, Dahl, Dalberg, Daleng, Dalheim, Dybdal, Dypvik, Dyrstad, Einseth, Elvebakke, Elvebakken, Elvenes, Elverum, Elvevoll, Engen, Engrud, Engstad, Engvoll, Evenmo, Evenstad, Fagerberg, Fagerhaug, Fagerheim, Fagermo, Fagernes, Finland, Finnbakken, Finnbakksetra, Fjellbakken,  Fjelltun, Fjerdingen, Flatmo, Flatnes, Flismoen, Forberg, Forhåpningshaugen, Fossbakken, Fosse, Fossefallet, Fosseggen, Fossen, Fosserud, Fosshaug, Fosshaugen, Fossland, Fosslia, Fosslien, Fosslund, Framheim, Framnes, Fredheim, Fredlund, Fredly, Fredriksberg, Friheim, Frostad, Frydenlund, Frøen, Furubakken, Furuheimen, Furulund, Furuly, Furum, Færset, Gammelgård, Garmo, Gaustad, Gilje, Grande, Graneng, Gravråk, Gressnes, Gressnesbukt, Gressnesli, Grimsbo, Grunnes, Grøneng, Grønnli, Grønnvoll, Grøtte, Gullhav, Gulset, Haga, Hagalien, Hall, Haugan, Haugatun, Haugen, Haugland, Haugli, Haugliness, Haugset, Haugsetnes, Hauketo, Hay-Moen, Heggebakken, Heggelid, Heggelund, Heggesnes, Heggevold, Heggstad, Heimberg, Heimjord, Heimlund, Hektoen, Helberg, Hellstad, Helstad, Hesjemoen, Hollendernes, Holmemo, Holmestrand, Holmsletta, Holmsletten, Hovde, Hytta, Høgås, Høybo, Høyden, Høyli, Høyvang, Iselvmoen, Istindli, Jensberg, Jensvoll, Jonsgård, Kaldbekken, Kilen, Killi, Kirkesdalen, Kirkesjorda, Kirkesmoen, Kirkesnes, Kirkesneseter, Kjelda, Kjeldsmoen, Kjeldstad, Kjelland, Kjervelvli, Kjosvold, Kjølnes, Klippen, Klynge, Kolstad, Korsmo, Kirkeeng, Krokeng, Laeng, Lamoen, Langli, Langnes, Langrabbi, Leirbakken, Leirbekkmoen, Leirflaten, Leirvoll, Lereng, Lermo, Lian, Lien, Liland, Lille, Lillebekkstranden, Lillebo, Lillejordet, Lillemoen, Lilleng, Lilleengmoen, Lillevoll, Lindstad, Lium, Lund, Lundamo, Lundberg, Lundbø, Lunde, Lundeng, Lundegård, Lundgård, Lundheim, Lundli, Lundnes, Lundstad, Lundvang, Luneborg, Luneborgmo, Lyngstad, Lyngås, Lysgård, Lysvoll, Løberg, Løvberg, Løvhaug, Løvlid, Malerud, Maristuen, Maukdal, Melbo, Melkild, Mellemgård, Midtgård, Midtli, Midttun, Minde, Moaberget, Moastøa, Mobakken, Moegg, Moen, Moeng, Moholt, Molund, Motrøen, Motun, Myre, Myreng, Myrhaug, Myrlund, Myrstrand, Myrvangen, Myrvoll, Møkleby, Målselv, Målsnes, Målsrud, Måreng, Mårstad, Neby, Nermo, Ness, Nesvold, Nilasheimen, Nordby, Nordal, Nordeng, Nordgård, Nordheim, Nordlund, Nordmoen, Nordnes, Nordstrand, Nordvang, Norum, Nyberg, Nydal, Nyeng, Nygård, Nyheim, Nylund, Nymo, Nymoen, Nyrud, Nyset, Nyseter, Nystad, Nysted, Nystrand, Nytrøen, Nytun, Odden, Olderbakken, Oldereng, Olderholmen, Olderskogen, Olsborg, Olsborgmoen, Oppslagstedet,  Pannesengen, Perrasmusarommet, Pettersborg, Ranem, Ranheim, Reinåsen, Renmelmoen, Renmelmoskogen, Revnes, Rismo, Rogndalsli, Rognli, Rognlien, Rognlund, Rognmoen, Rolfsjord, Rolid, Rundhaug, Rundhaugseter, Ryddli, Rydland, Ryeng, Rydningen, Rønninglia, Sagatun, Sageng, Sandberg, Sandeggen, Sandkjosmoen, Sandmo, Sandstad, Sandvik, Schølseth, Seljehaugen, Seljelund, Seljemo, Siljan, Sjøveien, Skardalen, Skareng, Skarheimen, Skarholdt, Skarperud, Skarpsno, Skarseth, Skarvoll, Skaugum, Skavåsen, Skjellbakken, Skjellstad, Skjellteigen, Skog, Skogbakke, Skoghus, Skoghøi, Skoglund, Skogly, Skogvang, Skottestad, Slåtteli, Solbakke, Solbakken, Solbø, Soleng, Solfang, Solheim, Sollia, Sollid, Sollys, Solseth, Solstad, Solum, Solør, Solås, Sommerro, Steiland, Steinmo, Stenbakken, Stensem, Stenseth, Stenshaug, Stensland, Stensrud, Storbakken, Storeggen, Storholmen, Storjorda, Storvika, Storåkeren, Strand, Strimmelen, Strokkseth, Stråkkenes, Sundby, Svendborg, Sverresborg, Sæterhaug, Sætervang, Søreng, Sørgård, Sørlid, Sørlund, Sørmo, Sørstrand, Takelvdalen, Tangen, Teigen, Teiglund, Toftaker, Torshaug, Trekanten, Trollmælnesset, Tryggstad, Trætteng, Tråsdal, Tufte, Tune, Tunes, Tuvmo, Tvedehus, Tverrelvskaret, Tvillingholmen, Uhleng, Undset, Utby, Utgård, Valør, Vang, Vangen, Vesletun, Vestby, Vesteng, Vestgård, Vestli, Vestliseter, Vestness, Vestvang, Vidsyn, Vikingheimen, Vinje, Vonheim, Voreng, Vårlid, Vårmo, Ørbanken, Ørstad, Østermo, Østgård, Østli, Østlund, Østvang, Øytun, Aarskog, Åsbakk, Åsheim, Åsland, Åsli, Åsmo, Åsnes, Åsvang

Målselv Bygdebok Volume III

Aagaard, Aaslia, Alvheim, Aspenes, Bakke, Bakkemo, Bakketun, Berg, Berglund, Bergset, Bjerke, Bjørgan, Bjørkeng, Bjørklund, Bjørnhaug, Bjørnhaugen, Blomli, Brandsegg, Brannmo, Bråten, Brenn, Daleng, Dalhaug, Dalheim, Dividal, Dividalen, Divimo, Dørum, Eggum, Eidsvoll, Eldnes, Elvevold, Fagerlund, Fagernes, Finnsnes, Finnsnesskogen, Fjelde, Fjellheim, Floli, Fram, Framnes, Fredheim, Fredly, Frihetsli, Gamnes, Garmo, Granum, Grenholmen, Grindjordet, Grønli, Haug, Haugerud, Haugli, Heimdal, Heimly, Høgstadgård, Holmen, Holt, Høyli, Innseth, Jutulstad, Kjosnes, Kongsli, Kongsvoll, Kristianemo, Lauvlund, Liatun, Lieng, Likkamoen, Lillevang, Lilund, Lium, Løkstad, Lombolnes, Løvheld, Lund, Lundberg, Lundeng, Luneborg, Lunheim, Mælum, Maristad, Maukstad, Messelt, Messeltmo, Messeltmoen, Moan, Moe, Moeng, Mohagen, Moland, Nedre Elvevold, Nedre Sletten, Nerdrum, Nergaardsøren, Nergård, Nergårdsøren, Nerøyen, Ness, Nessvik, Nordgård, Nordheim, Nordli, Nordlie, Nordre Frihetsli, Nordre Haug, Nygård, nyheim, Nysted, Vyvoll, Oppi, Rommet, Rostad, Rostadmoen, Rostadskogen, Rostanes, Rosttun, Rutheim, Sætermoen, Sæternes, Sagbakken, Sagen, Sageng, Skogly, Skillet, Skjærhaugen, Skjeggesnes, Skjeggstad, Skjellet, Skjold, Skoglid, Skoglund, Skogsbu Skogstad, Skogtun, Sletten, Slettvold, Solbakken, Solberg, Solbergnes, Solheim, Solstad, Solvang, Solvold, Søreng, Sørgård, Sørli, Sørmo, Stenbakken, Stenberg, Stenmo, Stenvold, Svalheim, Sveås, Sverresvold, Svestad, Teigen, Thune, Tiller, Tillermo, Tillermoen, Tillerskogen, Torp, Trangen, Trangmo, Treelvdalen, Tverelvi,Tverelvmo, Uleberg, Utgård, Vang, Vårheim, Vårtun, Vestby, Vinsnes, Wang, Øverby, Øvergård, Øvernesset, Øvertiller, Øymoen, Årheim, Åsen, Åsgård, Åsheim, Åsland

Målselv Bygdebok Volume IV

Akermo, Andselvgård, Andslia, Andslimoen, Bakken, Bardofossen, Barheim, Berg, Bergland, Berglund, Bergstad, Bjørkholt, Bjørneborg, Bjørnevald, Bjørnvang, Bjørnås, Bobakk, Borgestad, Borgum, Brovold, Bækkelid, Dale, Dalem, Elvebakken, Elvelund, Elvemo, Elvskiftnes, Elvskiftningsskogen, Engseth, Fagerheim, Fagerli, Fagerlidal, Fagerlund, Fagertun. Finnsund, Finstad, Fjelllstad, Fleskmo, Fløystad, Formo, Fossestupet, Fossheim, Fosshøgda, Fossland, Fossmo, Fossmoskogen, Fossum, Fråstad, Furu, Furuseth, Granheim, Haugan, Haugen, Heggelid, Heimdal, Helleberg, Hillestad, Holmen, Karlsrud, Karlstad, Kjæreng, Krogseng, Krogsvang, Kvanlien, Kveldro, Lamo, Lamoskogen, Lavoll, Leding, Lundheim, Løvmo, Messelt, Midtgård, Moland, Motun, Møllerhaug, Møllerhaugen, Nordli, Nordstrand, Nyborg, Nygård, Nylund, Nytrøen, Næss, Olstad, Permoen, Plantefelt, Ringstad, Rosheim, Rossvoll, Rusta,  Rustbakken, Rusten, Rusteng, Rydningen, Røstvang, Sandbakken, Sandberg, Sandvoll, Seterli, Setertun, Silje, Skaavseth, Skansen, Skog, Skogheim, Skogly, Skogmo, Skogstad, Solhaug, Solvang, Sommerro, Stenstad, Stenvoll, Storli, Stormoen, Storslåa, Strandvoll, Sundgård, Sætertun, Sætra, Sørli, Takholmbukt, Takholmen, Tangen, Thune, Torheim, Torpe, Trettvold, Ulvestad, Utgård, Utheim, Utrapet, Vangen, Vekved, Veltabakken, Veltenmoen, Øverli, Øvre Elvskiftnes 

Målselv Bygdebok Volume V

Aasrud, Aasvang, Abrahamheimen, Akermo, Alfheim, Aspestrand, Austbø, Bakkejord, Bakkelund, Bakketun, Bakkland, Barås, Bekkeng, Belterud, Bergan, Bergheim, Berglund, Bjørklund, Bratteng, Brattheim, Brattli, Bruvoll, Bråthen, Dagstad, Eidet, Eidlandet, Eidtun, Eigsvoll, Elvenes, Elvestad, Elvestrand, Elvevoll, Engen, Engrud, Engvoll, Fagerthun, Fagervang, Fjeld, Fjellhaug, Flismoen, Freiland, Fugleli, Fuglemo, Fuglemoen, Fuglemyr, Granli, Grønlund, Gullhaug, Haugen, Haugli, Haugnes, Heggebakken, Heide, Heimen, Heimly, Holm, Holme, Holmen, Holmenes, Holmeng, Holmseth, Holmstad, Holmsætra, Holt, Håpet, Keianes, Kjerredal, Kjerresnes, Kjosmo, Kongo, Koris, Kringlemoen, Lanesset, Lappestad, Liatun, Lien, Lieng, Likkali, Likkavang, Lilleborg, Lilleholmen, Lillevang, Lund, Lundberg, Lundli, Løvheim, Løvås, Malangen, Moland, Molund, Mortenbukt, Myrbakken, Myrheim, Myrlid, Navaren, Nedre Lanes, Nedrum, Nesset, Nessmo, Nordgård, Nordholm, Nordstrand, Nordvang, Noreng, Nuvstad, Nyberg, Nyborg, Nybygget, Nygaard, Nygård, Nyheim, Nyland, Nylund, Olsborg, Ophus, Oppgård, Perhansanes, Pusserabben, Pussholm, Raneng, Rundmo, Rundmoen, Rydeng, Rydningen, Rystad, Sandmo, Skog, Skoglund, Skogly, Skogstad, Solbakken, Solbu, Solbø, Soleng, Solhaug, Solheim, Solseth, Soltun, Solvang, Solvoll, Sommerbakk, Sommerbakken, Stalheim, Storholmen, Strandbo, Stranden, Strandheim, Sæterhaug, Sætermo, Sætervang, Sørelvmo, Sørgård, Sørnes, Sørås, Tofte, Trettevoll, Ursfjordbotn, Uteng, Vang, Vangen, Vangsnes, Vesterli, Vestheim, Vik, Voss, Ytreberg, Ytregård, Østerlid, Østgård, Østlid, Østvang, Østvoll, Øverlund, Øvre, Åslund

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Historical Society[edit | edit source]

Målselv Historielag

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

-Eilertsen, Turid Følling. Målselv Bygdebok Bind II. Målselv Kommune

-Haugli, Vidkunn. Målselv Bygdebok Bind III. Målselv Kommune 1990

-Haugli, Vidkunn. Målselv Bygdebok Bind IV. Målselv Kommune 2002

-Haugli, Vidkunn. Målselv Bygdebok Bind V. Målselv Kommune 2010