Madla Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Madla, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Amt 1689-1919||1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt, |
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
|Fogderi||Jæderen og Dalene|
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The records begin in 1671 and contain priest and sexton records from the parishes Sola (Sole), Tananger, Tjora and Madla (Malle) in Håland clerical district. Håland clerical district became Sola clerical district in 1967. These parishes were part of Stavanger (the Latin school) before 1741, and the parishes Håland, Sola and Tjora became Sola parish in 1840.
Microfilms at the Family History Library cover the years: 1671-1913. FamilySearch for full details and microfilm numbers.
- Christenings (Døbte): 1671-1900
- Introductions (Introduserte): 1671-1774, 1794-1798
- Absolutions (Absolverte): 1671-1770
- Confirmations (Konfirmerte): 1795-1900
- Banns (Lysninger): 1799-1807
- Engagements (Trolovede): 1671-1799
- Marriages (Viede): 1671-1913
- Stillborn (Dødfødte): 1803-1886
- Burials (Begravede): 1671-1892
- Vaccinations (Vaksinerte): 1828-1867
- Moving in and out (Inflyttede og Utflyttede): 1794-1812, 1816-1913
- Church census (Sjeleregister): 1758
Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Court Records[edit | edit source]
The court records contain reports of civil and criminal actions, including the allodial rights, a system of ownership by which an owner has all rights associated with possessing a property. You will find names, dates, places, and relationships in these records. The records have no indexes, and therefore require time to study. They are excellent sources for genealogical research and at times you can find entire families through several generations. These records must be used in conjunction with the mortgage records, probate records, or other records.
These records are for Jæren and Dalane judicial districts which include these places: Hetland (Frue), Høyland, Klepp, Time (Lye), Håland, Ogna, Sandnes, Helleland, Egersund, Lund, Sokndal, Heskestad, Hå, Bjerkreim, Randaberg, Sola, Madla, Varhaug, Nærbø, and Gjestal in Rogaland county.
Land Records[edit | edit source]
- 1724-1913: These mortgage records give information about real estate, conveyances, mortgages, and other transactions of properties. Contracts, agreements, and deeds are also recorded in these books. The panteregisters are extracts of these records. Digitised Real Estate Registers at Digitalarkivet.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Availability[edit | edit source]
Farm Book[edit | edit source]
A genealogy of the people and their farms in Madla from 1600 to 1900 in Rogaland county with some history. With index by Jørg Eirik Waula.
Refheim, Sigurd, "Gard og ætt i Madla: frå ikring 1600 til først på 1900-talet, med innføring om tun og bruk, jordleige og jordeige, gamle åkrar, vegar og øydegardar," Stavanger, Norway: Utgjevar Stavanger kommune, 1981 948.31/M1 D2r 2 vols. FHL INTL Book
Waula, Jørg Eirik, "Gard og ætt i Madla personregister", Stavanger, Norway : Rogaland Historie og Ættesogelag, 1995. 948.31/M1 D2r index FHL INTL Book
A farm name index to this book is found in the following link. File:948.31-M1 D2r Gard Og Ætt I Madla.pdf
|The farm name index referenced above includes many more names than the list below.|
Farm Names[edit | edit source]
The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:
38 Malle, 40 Myren
38 Raunevolden, 39 Reveim
38 Sanddal, 38 Sandnes, 41 Skjelbrei, 41 Sunde nordre